Reviews

Real stories from real participants, parents and university partners who share their experiences as well as their advice. Learn more about the benefits Connect-123 interns and volunteers receive on our programs around the world!

Scroll down to view all – or filter by destination, opportunity or both.

Destination

Opportunity

Emme Sudock

Film and Photography Intern | Dublin
Bennington College
22 May 2018

When I decided to do a film internship in Dublin, I felt I was ready to live abroad and independently. But I knew I still needed support and guidance since it would be my first time. Nervous and excited, Connect-123 surpassed my expectations and helped to make my experience in Dublin amazingly unforgettable. My coordinator was so helpful, friendly and supportive throughout my time there. Through the program, I made many close friends and got to experience so much of Ireland. Connect-123 helped me really find my footing in a new place, and in a new internship, with a sense of confidence.

Internships in Dublin

Isabella Olgers

Film and Photography Intern | Dublin
The University of Sydney
22 May 2018

In between my second and third year of university, I wanted to get some real-life practical experience in my field. As I am studying filmmaking I wanted to learn more about the film industry from the film production perspective. I also knew I wanted to travel, and experience living in another city. When I came across the Connect-123 film and photography internship program, it was exactly what I was looking for. Connect-123 gave me a chance to fully immerse myself in another culture. At the same time, I was doing something practical towards my future career.I'd never been to Dublin before, but I fell in love with it straight away. I made so many friends, many of them through Connect meet-ups. And I had some of the best months of my life which I still reminisce about. I was very impressed with the Connect-123 support network. They helped me find housing and there were regular meetings with our coordinator Nikki, who was there for us for whatever we needed. It was an absolute pleasure to have such a unique experience working in a foreign country. Getting to a new city, sharing a house with other foreigners, and exploring Ireland on the weekends, it all feels like a dream. I will never ever forget my wonderful days in Dublin.

Internships in Dublin

Alison Wall

Healthcare intern | Dublin
University of Minesota
21 May 2018

I cannot recommend Connect-123 enough! I was excited to learn more about my family history in Ireland, as well as gain new professional skills through this internship. I was nervous to spend three months in a foreign country, but Nikki - the Connect-123 program coordinator in Dublin - made me feel so welcome and was a wealth of information on fun things to do both in and out of the city. She also made sure that all the interns in Dublin felt connected and set up activities for us every week! I had an amazing experience, learned new things, and made friends from all over the world. I'm so happy I chose Connect-123 to help me through my internship abroad.

Internships in Dublin

Josh Braun

Public Policy internship | Buenos Aires
Colarado University
14 May 2018

My time in Buenos Aires has been unreal. I really did not know what to expect before I arrived. There were so many uncertainties going into the experience, but I could not be happier with how everything turned out! I was welcomed with open arms at my host organization, had an international-filled and always exciting apartment, and the city, oh my gosh. The city is so vibrant and so alive. At times it can be overwhelming, but there is always, like really ALWAYS something to be a part of, or to experience. From cultural events to concerts to sharing mate with friends on a Sunday afternoon. As far as the internship is concerned, I was blown away with the work that I was able to do. I worked with an NGO and with the Provincial Government of Buenos Aires. The office was so welcoming, and the opportunities that I was given were so valuable. For my main project during the internship, I traveled around the province conducting interviews with municipal officials as part of a sustainable development report working in tandem with the UN's Sustainable Development Goals. The work was meaningful, and hopefully in the future will have a tangible positive impact in the province. In short, I am so glad that I chose Connect 123, and will be forever grateful for my time in Buenos Aires.

Internships in Buenos Aires

Spencer Goodman

Health Care internship | Buenos Aires
Ball State University
26 April 2018

If I think back over the course of my short life, I can think of a few moments in which I was heavily challenged, grew, and came out of the situation a more mature individual. My time in Buenos Aires was certainly one of those: I experienced what it’s like to live in a big city, how to work around gaps in my knowledge of Spanish, and overall how to become more autonomous from living on my own so far away. The relationships, both with people from Connect-123 and my work placement, have been so uplifting and I miss them. In short, I would do it over again: Connect-123 gave me the chance to discover more of the world, as well as myself in my time in Buenos Aires.

Internships in Buenos Aires

Kristen Dougherty

Communications internship | Dublin
Grand Valley State University
6 April 2018

I am so happy that I chose Connect-123. My summer in Dublin was better than I could have imagined. I went into the program knowing no one, but the other people in the program that I met have become close friends and we still see each other now and then. Nikki was the Connect-123 coordinator with us in Ireland, and she was fantastic. She was always available to help and planned fun group activities. I love Connect-123 because, first of all, I spent half as much as I would have if I had gone through my university, and second, the people that work for Connect-123 and the people that participated in the program with me are all wonderful. I can't imagine spending that summer any other way.

Internships in Dublin

James Addington

Law internship | Buenos Aires
University of Canterbury
6 April 2018

After completing my studies at the University of Canterbury I wanted the challenge of living and working abroad in a foreign language. With the help of Connect-123 and the New Zealand Embassy to Argentina, I undertook a three-month legal internship in Buenos Aires. The experience has exposed me to the Argentine legal and commercial landscape and helped improve my Spanish. Buenos Aires is an epic city and I would 10/10 recommend this program!

Internships in Buenos Aires

Rebecca Pedras

Health Care internship
University of San Francisco
28 February 2018

Connect-123 gave me a unique opportunity to grow personally as well as professionally. My internship abroad in Buenos Aires gave me insight into how rehabilitation is approached across borders; and that similarities can be found half a world away. Developing my Spanish has added that extra layer of meaning for me because I was able to learn and share with more people throughout this process. Connections made, time well spent and memories I will not forget. Thank you.

Brittany King

Journalism internship | Dublin
University of Saskatchewan
28 February 2018

I have always wanted to travel, but after graduating, I wanted to gain experience in my career as well. That is when I looked into internships abroad and I came across Connect-123. The reviews spoke highly of the program and I was not disappointed. My coordinator was wonderful. She made me feel comfortable being in a new country by myself and provided me with amazing ideas to get the most out of my trip. The placement they found was amazing and the people were so nice and helpful. I learned a lot and gained a lot of experience. I worked at a newspaper and wrote at least five articles every week. It was a very busy two months, my days were filled with my work as an intern and with lots of travel and fun activities too. I visited downtown Dublin many times, went to Kilkenny, Glendalough, Wicklow, Galway, Cliffs of Moher, Belfast and even travelled to Edinburgh, Scotland. Connect-123 gave me the best experience of my life where I got the chance to travel and gain experience to further my career. This program is the best choice for students interested in an internship abroad.

Internships in Dublin

Ellie Shoji

Medical and Health Care Internship | Dublin
University of Toronto
28 February 2018

Reflecting on the five-and-a-half months in Ireland I spent interning with Connect-123 as a research assistant at a University, I have to say that it was the best decision I have made for myself, ever. I applied for an internship with Connect-123 after deciding to pursue medicine and research. All I knew when I began my internship was what my research project entailed and the expectations the university had for me as an intern. Throughout my internship, I met Masters students and PhD students who became my friends and my mentors in research. I began to enjoy research and I was very fortunate to work with a great team. My supervisors were supportive, enthusiastic, critical and encouraging. As a bonus, I was invited to attend and helped organize a major conference that the university was hosting for the first time. It was a great way to finish off my research assistant internship. Behind the scenes I was supported by the Connect-123 Dublin Program Coordinator, Nikki Madden. It was very reassuring to have someone to reach out to and I felt safe with her by my side. I do not think anyone could do what Nikki does for the Connect-123 students. Nikki organized regular events for us, which was a great way to bring us together as friends and teach us a bit about Dublin since it can be hard to be in a new place without having anyone to talk to. As an avid traveler, it can be exciting to face new challenges in a new country but it is always the people that make it the best experience and worth the stay. Without Nikki & Lea, I would not have been able to meet my wonderful host family who are like an extended family that made me feel like Ireland is my other home. I would like to thank Connect-123 for making it possible for me to have the experience of a lifetime, and for the wonderful support you provided for me and my younger brother who interned with Connect-123 previously.

Internships in Dublin

Liz Srulevich

Film & Photography Internship | Dublin
Middlebury College
28 February 2018

After graduating from high school last June, I decided to take a semester off - which, thanks to Connect-123, ended up being one of the best decisions I've ever made. In Dublin, I was placed into a small television production company, where I pitched ideas, wrote proposals, and worked closely with industry veterans.I lived close to the city centre, which made exploring Dublin really convenient. And, most of all, I never felt completely on my own - the incredible Dublin program coordinator always made sure everything was going by smoothly. Without Connect-123’s help, none of this would’ve been possible. So, if you’re reading this testimonial and are wondering if this program is really worth it, let me leave you with the following: Intern abroad if you’re interested in honing in on what you’re passionate about, becoming more mature and independent, and/or opening yourself up to new experiences. Connect-123 really does deliver.

Internships in Dublin

Laura Davids

Medical and Health Care Internship | Buenos Aires
Wake Forest University
15 February 2018

My internship in Buenos Aires is something that I will always remember fondly. The city is vibrant and I had a never-ending list of things that I wanted to do! From Plaza de Mayo to intimate tango shows in San Telmo, there was never a dull moment. The people were kind and the city was unlike any place I have ever lived. Traveling around Argentina was also an incredible experience! My internship welcomed me with open arms, and I learned a great deal that I feel will be helpful to me in my future career. I am leaving Argentina with new passions and goals for my future, based on experiences I have had here. I initially had difficulty understanding the Argentine accent, but picked it up after a few weeks! Being immersed in the language helped my Spanish improve exponentially. The coordinators at Connect-123 were also very helpful, and answered every question I ever had. Having the support system of Connect-123 helped me make the most of my time in Buenos Aires!

Internships in Buenos Aires

Julian Douglass

Animal Science and Wildlife internship | Dublin
NOVA College
29 January 2018

I am very happy with the time I spent in Dublin, thanks to Connect-123. My internship program coordinator provided amazing levels of support. She organized fun activities for the interns, including a trip to Galway, an escape room visit and several dinners out in Temple Bar. My internship was equally satisfying. The staff in charge were welcoming and my supervisor allowed me to set my own hours. The work was varied, with me spending time working with dogs and cats, as well as working with several tour groups. It was rewarding and taught me more about working with animals. I had a great time, not only at work, but in Dublin proper. Thanks Connect-123!

Internships in Dublin

Cody Larimore-Siu

Entreprenurial internship | Dublin
California Polytechnic State University
29 January 2018

As part of the program I am in at my university, students are encouraged to spend at least one quarter studying or working abroad to further prepare us for the global marketplace and provide us with intercultural communication skills. I decided to do the latter, but I had no idea where to start my search for an internship abroad. After looking around at companies that offered internship placements abroad, I settled on Connect-123 because of the countless positive reviews I had read. And I was not disappointed. The Connect-123 internship program helped me along every step of the way and without them I don't think my experience would have been the same. They helped me find both my internship and housing in Dublin, they made sure I had all the correct travel documents and that someone picked me up from the airport. Additionally the program director for Dublin was so welcoming and friendly, she was constantly organizing events and checking in with us to make sure that everything was okay. My actual internship was as a whole a very rewarding and educational experience, I feel like my professional skills have benefited greatly. The people at Connect-123 did an excellent job of placing me. In general, I would highly encourage anyone considering an internship abroad to just go for it, it’s truly a life changing experience.

Internships in Dublin

John Lisella

Marketing intern | Dublin
University of Colorado at Boulder
22 January 2018

My name is John Lisella and this is my Connect-123 story. I was a 21 year old college student who had just made the decision to discontinue playing Division 1 football at my university due to health concerns. I was ready to move forward and leave that chapter of my life behind. With one semester left in college, it was the first time in my life I felt unprepared to graduate and enter the real world. I was lost, walking through the hallways concerned about my future when a paper on one of our business school bulletin boards caught my eye with the caption “Interested in Traveling Abroad?” After attending the meeting I was introduced to Connect-123. Connect-123 has opened doors up for me that I never would have thought imaginable. As a young college student who wanted to find himself and experience life away from home, Connect-123 provided me with an opportunity and memories that will last me a lifetime. Not only do they connect you with businesses and organizations that fit your needs and abilities, but they walk through each step. I am grateful for my experience working in Dublin, Ireland, and the many friendships and business experiences I was able to take away from my internship. The thing I am most thankful for is the friendships I made that will last a lifetime. The 2017 summer group in Dublin were some of the most fun courageous and unique people I have ever met. From hiking and exploring the countryside to dancing in the city, I thank Connect-123 for giving us the time of our lives in Dublin, Ireland.  The short and sweet summer trip has inspired me to follow my dreams. I am currently coaching American football in Roma, Italy and living with an amazing host family while studying the language. I would not be where I am at today without Connect-123. They should change the company to “Connect Unlimited” because truly, your connections and experiences you receive have unlimited value.

Internships in Dublin

Paige Rideout

Marketing Intern | Cape Town
Ball State University
18 January 2018

My experience with Connect-123 was nothing short of amazing. My initial expectation was to gain an internship, but I left with so much more. Connect-123 not only guided me to the internship of my dreams, but they also connected me to a new-found family in Cape Town. I built lasting relationships with employers, made life-long friendships and found my home away from home. Working as an intern in marketing not only confirmed my classroom knowledge, but also gave me a platform to develop new skills related to my field. Connect-123 is an experience that will challenge you, connect you and propel your professional career forward. They give you the tools necessary to succeed, so get ready!

Internships in Cape Town

Staci Tiedeken

Astronomy Internship | Dublin
University of Iowa
21 November 2017

After graduating college, I wanted to do a bit of traveling but also wanted to maintain a connection with my specialization. This is where Connect-123 came in. I wasn’t expecting them to find something that fit with my area of expertise because it’s not the most studied topic. However, they surprised me with a placement in a wonderful organization that allowed me to share my passion for astronomy. I will always be grateful for Connect-123’s hard work and dedication on finding me this internship in Dublin. Dublin is a marvelous city with a vibrant atmosphere full of kind-hearted people. It’s difficult to walk down a street and not hear/see someone playing a musical instrument or entertaining passersby in some other way. I didn’t live in the city centre itself, but the public transportation system is very well laid out which made traveling quite easy. The Dublin program coordinator is an absolute gem, and it’s obvious that she cares about your experience abroad from the first day you arrive. If you ever need anything or have an issue pop up, she is incredibly easy to reach and makes sure that you’re able to reach the other interns as well. Thank you to Connect-123 for this stellar experience!

Internships in Dublin

Sophia Nelson

Human Rights Intern | Cape Town
Drexel University
7 November 2017

Cape Town is an amazing place with an incredible, important history; it should definitely be on everyone’s bucket lists! I was able go on such amazing adventures, including a safari, wine tasting, sky diving, shark cage diving, and beautiful hikes. The city has delicious food, too. I ate at a few different markets and so many cool restaurants, all with unique atmospheres and aesthetics. I got to work with an organization that improves the lives and educations of youth in Africa, which was a great experience, and is something I’m very passionate about. Also, Connect-123 planned these really fun events for everyone in the program to get to know each other. I still keep in touch with the friends I made in Cape Town. Living and working abroad has taught me so many life skills and given me wonderful experiences I will never forget. I know I’m going to be back there soon!

Internships in Cape Town

Valeria Isgro

Law Intern | Dublin
University of Genoa, Italy
5 November 2017

If you are looking for an opportunity to gain life experiences, Dublin is the right place! Thanks to Connect-123, your internship will be absolutely perfect and in line with your expectations. I stayed in Dublin for 2 months from January to March. In the time I was there, I worked in a law firm of solicitors. My main tasks were answering the phone calls, helping clients in need, managing post and email conversations, and attending courts. I was surrounded by competent people, who helped me feel comfortable in and out of the office. Along with an internship in your field, Connect-123 also offers various opportunities to discover Ireland with other people in the program! I recommend this journey to anyone who is looking for a memorable learning experience; mine was unforgettable!

Internships in Dublin

Maria Cacciapuoti

Medical Intern | Dublin
University of Virginia
1 November 2017

After graduating college a semester early, I knew I wanted to find an internship experience abroad, but didn’t know where to start. But after finding out about Connect-123, everything fell perfectly into place! Connect-123 was able to place me in an Immunology Lab in the Pathology Department within one of the largest hospital systems in Ireland, and I absolutely loved my experience there. My coworkers were so friendly and welcoming, and I learned about an entire new branch of science with which I hadn’t previously had much exposure. Now, as I apply for medical school back in the US, admissions committees are eager and excited to hear about my opportunity to work in another country’s healthcare system. Connect-123 also helped me find housing in a fantastic area of Dublin with other international students. The people I lived with ended up being my closest friends, and we travelled within Ireland and throughout Europe together.In addition to helping with logistical tasks like job placement and housing, Connect-123 truly made Dublin feel like home during my few months there. My program coordinator was an amazing mentor and friend and went out of her way to make sure all the Connect participants were having fun and experiencing everything Ireland has to offer. She was always just a text or call away when I had any problems or questions, from learning how to use Dublin’s public transportation system to restaurant recommendations and everything in between. We all got together as a group at least weekly to do different activities around Dublin, as well as several day trips to other parts of Ireland. It was incredible to have a group of friends to explore the city with, and I made friends from around the globe who I still keep in contact with to this day. I had absolutely no idea what to expect from Dublin or Ireland in general, but I came home from my trip with a deep appreciation and love of Irish culture. I can’t speak highly enough about the hospitality and warm welcome I received from every single Irish person I met. I couldn’t have asked for anything more from my experience abroad, and I can’t wait to return to Ireland one day!

Internships in Dublin