Reviews

Real stories from real participants, parents and university partners who share their experiences as well as their advice. Learn more about the benefits Connect-123 interns and volunteers receive on our programs around the world!

Scroll down to view all – or filter by destination, opportunity or both.

Destination

Opportunity

Yaritza Burgos

Physical Therapy Intern | Buenos Aires
Mercy College
10 April 2017

Interning abroad has always been one of the many things I wanted to do ever since my last year in college. I came across Connect-123’s program through my school and after months of communication with the coordinator and doing research about Buenos Aires, Argentina, I was sold! My stay in Argentina was short only two months, but in those two months I was able to learn about Argentina’s culture, make lifelong friends, and, most importantly, learn all about physical therapy while getting the hands on experience. I was also able to expand my Spanish language skills and perfect it! Buenos Aires is such an amazing city, so beautiful and the people are super friendly! If you love to travel and are dying to start interning or volunteering, then Connect-123 is just right for you! I love to travel and have been meaning to start interning, so why not do both at the same time? I never regretted my decision to come to Buenos Aires and I do plan to come back and visit one day! It’s a once in a lifetime experience and I honestly recommend those who are looking into Connect-123, look no further!

Internships in Buenos Aires

Ryan Coats

Marketing Intern | Cape Town
Michigan State University
4 April 2017

Leading into my last summer as a college student, I was seeking a life-changing experience and South Africa gave me exactly that. I was happy to be placed in an internship at a technology start-up company located in the up-and-coming Woodstock neighborhood. My internship was challenging and provided me with unique international business experiences; it has already contributed to my career. Many times, I would get out of work and go surfing and other fun activities with the group of interns in the program; I was doing something new almost every day. Throughout the twelve weeks I spent abroad, the Connect-123 team was there for any question or concern I had. I appreciated the Connect-123 staff and their level of interest in making sure I got the best out of my internship and travel experience. They provided us with the guidance to navigate through the city like true Capetonians. From a simple search, you can tell Cape Town is a second to none travel destination. Looking back, I could not have predicted all the memories I made with an incredible group of interns. My network has now been expanded globally thanks to my summer in Cape Town. I interned in Cape Town the summer after I graduated from college, and I could not be happier about my decision of going to South Africa, and postponing the job hunting. While I was in Cape Town, I learned more about myself, became friends with people from all over the world, and immersed myself in a country with a complex history -- an experience I believe everyone should have before jumping into a full-time job. To put things in perspective, I befriended a local family who taught me the ins and outs of Cape Town, and who provided me with a firsthand perspective of South Africa's history and culture. Two of my closest friends there also happened to be British, allowing me to better understand the culture of the UK without being there. While in South Africa, I abseiled down Table Mountain and traveled through its Garden Route where we took part in an elephant encounter and crept through some caves. I went on a safari in Kruger, and even had the opportunity of exploring the country's neighbor, Namibia. In all, I had an amazing time and feel fortunate to have such good memories of the summer after I graduated from university. Connect-123 is unique because you also gain a unique outlook in regards to the country's work culture. I interned at a startup, an experience I absolutely loved! My supervisor allowed me to take plenty of initiative, and I found myself creating a variety of projects for them. During my interviews today, this experience is always a talking point, and I feel better prepared to take on a full time job. Before deciding on going, I constantly thought about how I should have already gone abroad, and about how I was pushing back on two months in which I could already be working. I took a step back though, and realized that in the scheme of things, two months is really not a lot -- especially since those two months would provide me with memories and lessons that would last me a lifetime. If you are having these same kinds of doubts, my advice to you is to just go. You'll be glad you did.

Internships in Cape Town

Ashley Nave

Writing Intern | Barcelona
Kutztown University
29 March 2017

Are you looking for the internship of your dreams and one that falls under your area of study? About a year and a half ago, I said to some family and friends that it would be a dream come true to find an internship in Barcelona, and so one day I came across the Connect-123 program and they put it all together, an internship with a magazine in one of my favorite cities. Finding Connect-123 was one of the greatest opportunities I’ve ever experienced. From the friendly welcome at the airport and the diverse accommodations, to the program activities all throughout Barcelona and the writing internship itself, I not only gained professional skills but I lived in a community that I will never forget. I met people from all over the world there, and because of Connect-123, it felt like I was truly at home, even though I was over 2,000 miles away from my actual home. The program opened my eyes to living and working overseas in ways that I’d never understood before, being that they help you adapt to a foreign culture, a new lifestyle and incredible food, which doesn’t take much adapting to if you’re a foodie like me! It’s taking a chance for sure, but more importantly, you will walk away with unforgettable memories, long-lasting friendships and communication skills you might only achieve by studying and working abroad.

Internships in Barcelona

Chad Allen

Marketing Intern | Cape Town
University of Northern Colorado
27 March 2017

My experience in Cape Town was absolutely incredible, and I’ll try my best to shorten the best three months of my life into just two paragraphs. I had never traveled outside of the U.S. before, and everyone told me that Cape Town would spoil any future destinations I had in mind. There are countless things to do in your spare time. South Africa is incredibly diverse and there is plenty of history to take in at local museums, landmarks, and of course Robben Island. I love hiking and Devil’s Peak, Table Mountain, and Lion’s Head are all beautiful hikes. Some of the incredible things you can do and see include but are not limited to; penguins at the beach, wine country, lion walks, shark cage diving, cave tours, feeding elephants, catching some waves, rugby games, shenanigans on Long Street, the massive botanical gardens, eating a burger the size of your face (Dog’s Bollocks, go there), or, you know, just jumping off of the second largest bungee jump bridge in the world. No big deal. The list goes on and on. My internship was with an international non-governmental organization devoted to devoted to building decent, affordable housing. I worked with their digital marketing, social media marketing, analytics and website content. Connect-123 did a great job finding a perfect internship opportunity for me. Everyone in my office was friendly and worked well as a team. It was enlightening to know I was a part a non-profit organization that was helping make a difference in the lives of less fortunate South Africans. The people I met both at my internship and at the informal settlements we visited were so uplifting and inspirational. I was truly blessed to have such an amazing experience during my visit.

Internships in Cape Town

Diya Khullar

Healthcare Intern | Cape Town
Northeastern University
27 March 2017

My stay in Cape Town with Connect-123 was truly priceless. I entered with overwhelming anticipation and left with unimaginable clinical experience, bucket-list attractions checked off my list, and lifelong friends. Being a pre-med student did not pose an issue for me at the hospital as the surgeons and other interns were constantly encouraging questions and eager to teach. Not only did I get the opportunity to shadow cardiothoracics, I also ended up viewing general surgeries and neurosurgeries! The environment truly fosters your interests as long as you pursue them, whether it's spending all day in operating theater, focusing on ward work, or visiting other departments. Furthermore, Connect-123 was always there for me outside of the internship, from when I was sick as a dog to when I needed instructions on how to reset my electric power! Furthermore, the social events that Connect-123 set up for us allowed us to experience the various facets of Cape Town while CONNECTING (pun intended) with other individuals from all around the world! Overall, I highly recommend this experience to anyone who is willing to step outside of his/her comfort zone and seeks growth outside of the typical educational/career path; you will not regret it.

Internships in Cape Town

Kaitlin O’Brien

Child Life/Play Therapy Intern | Dublin
George Mason University
20 March 2017

To say my choice to intern in Ireland with Connect-123 was the best decision of my entire life would be an understatement. I honestly owe so much to Connect-123 and I will never forget my experience in Dublin. Connect-123 set me up with not one but two internships working in two children's hospitals in Dublin. I learned so much about what I want to do with my life and where I want to be. I was able to meet some of the greatest people I’ve ever known through Connect-123 and I was never lonely or out of people to explore Ireland with. I can’t recommend this company enough! If you are looking for a life changing experience, look no further. I promise you won’t be disappointed.

Internships in Dublin

Feyi Awofala

Architecture Intern | Cape Town
Rugby School, UK
17 March 2017

My experience in Cape Town from start to finish was amazing. From the first day I was welcomed with such warmth all the Connect-123 staff were so kind and helpful. From organizing great events and activities to being a constant line of support and advice. Yet most importantly my internship was valuable and I really appreciated connect finding me a great internship with a very well respected architect like Andy Horn who was a great mentor. Overall I loved every second of my time in Cape Town and would like to say cheers to all the people who made it so special.

Internships in Cape Town

Eden Klepper

Medical Research Intern | Barcelona
Arcadia University
7 March 2017

Being an undergraduate studying biology, it is very difficult to find meaningful internships in the sciences. Almost impossible. But after contacting Connect-123, they were able to find me multiple, really nice internships. I actually had options to choose from! I ended up working in a neuroimmunology research laboratory. I felt at home there and was able to confirm my aspirations of working as a biologist, which is the main reason for why I wanted to pursue an internship. I learned so much about different laboratory techniques in a clinical setting. I learned techniques and worked with software and machines that I have never encountered during my undergraduate career, and probably will not encounter again until my post-graduate education, or later. Interning in Barcelona, I was also able to utilize the Spanish language, which I had studied for several years and am minoring in. It was a wonderful feeling being able to speak Spanish with native speakers 24/7 and immerse myself among the Spanish and Catalonian cultures for the summer. I would return to Barcelona and my internship in a heartbeat if I could. I wish I could have interned longer. Connect-123 is an awesome resource for students who want an international internship experience to boost their resumes and confirm their career aspirations, before applying for jobs or graduate schools. An international experience like this is also a great way to network abroad and form diverse friendships and relationships. I met a lot of other interns from all over the United States due to Connect-123’s planned events and outings. They have exceptional staff there, and they were so supportive, communicative, and caring right from the start. I cannot thank the staff at Connect-123 and my internship hosts enough!

Internships in Barcelona

Xizi Yu

Healthcare Intern | Buenos Aires
Shanghai Institute of Biochemistry and Cell Biology
6 March 2017

Thanks to connect, I had the opportunity to spend my 50 day winter break working and living in a city I’ve always wanted to get to know. I know it’s a short time, but I was able to reach a deeper understanding of the culture, the country, and its people, also to have a fresh start of my Spanish learning. I worked as a medical intern in a hospital in Buenos Aires. Everyday we joined different doctors to observe and learn from their daily work. The experience was more than rewarding. Other than working, one of my objects of this visit was to experience the culture of tango. I started dancing Argentine tango in Fall 2016 and fell in love with it. Coming to BA after learning for 4 months, I found myself surrounded by amazing dancers, maestros and milongas. It was quite new and fresh to hear that there were some excellent ideas about tango from the young generations. I learned so much from this stay, not only academically and culturally, but also in terms of personal growth.

Internships in Buenos Aires

Naledi Makhene

Public Health Intern | Cape Town
Michigan State University
3 March 2017

I had an amazing time in Cape Town! My family is South African, so I’ve been to Cape Town before and was unsure if I wanted to go back there or experience a different city for my internship. I’m so happy that I decided to return, because I got to experience Cape Town in a different way. It is such a beautiful city that is rich in culture with lots of things to do. The people and the atmosphere are extremely inviting, which made the transition to living in a new place easier. My internship experience was phenomenal, and I hope to work there again when I earn my Master’s in Public Health. I reminisce on my trip literally almost everyday and I can’t wait to go back! Three months was too short.

Internships in Cape Town

Jack Churchill

Marketing Intern | Buenos Aires
High School Graduate
28 February 2017

Connect-123 proved every bit as helpful and enjoyable as I could have hoped. During my two months in Buenos Aires, every day was an adventure as I adjusted to living in a city unlike any I had ever experienced. Along with the lessons I learned as an intern, I feel that I really got to take part in the city's culture, as if I were a resident rather than just a tourist. Looking back on my time, I can definitively say that it has been a unique and enriching experience––made possible by the guidance of the program and the friends I made along the way. From trips I went on to the typical day with my roommates, I am sure these are memories that will remain with me for the rest of my life

Internships in Buenos Aires

Amirul Aniza

Engineering Intern | Cape Town
National University of Singapore
27 February 2017

It is no doubt that Cape Town is one of the most beautiful places on this planet. I fell in love with the place at first sight and was truly lucky to have been given the opportunity to intern in the city itself! My program coordinator was very efficient in securing an internship position for me, with a leading university, as a research intern. She also assisted in administrative tasks which allowed me to adapt to the beautiful city smoothly. I was lucky that my internship position had flexible working hours and I was also allowed to do work from my apartment. Hence, I would make full use of the flexibility to arrange trips with my friends to explore the city. After work, we would head out to Camps Bay or Waterfront to enjoy the evening scenes. Living near the other interns facilitated mingling amongst ourselves and we will look out for each other, easing the feeling of homesickness. Interning in Cape Town is undoubtedly one of the best decision I have ever made!

Internships in Cape Town

Samantha Warwar

Public Health Intern | Cape Town
Ohio State University
21 February 2017

Sitting down to write one paragraph about my experience in Cape town is one of the hardest things I've had to do. There are not enough words and definitely not enough space to capture everything I want to tell you about this trip. So I'll try my best to keep it concise (and not to cry) as I recall all of the amazing things about this internship. The summer after my first year in medical school, I went to Cape Town to intern with Connect-123 in the Public Health program. I spent 4 weeks interning in a hospital where I observed surgeries, rounded with some of Cape Town's most prestigious doctors, and helped care for the most memorable patients. If you are considering a field in medicine this is the best opportunity because you are a part of a care team managing some of the most sick patients in the world. You will see and do things that you once thought you would only read about in textbooks. As for the rest of the trip, me and a group of girls and guys became friends instantly. This is the kind of friendship that you dream about developing on a trip like this. We were from all over the world and I learned about the world from their stories in a way that I have never experienced before. We all fell in love with Cape town together, it is impossible not to if you go. Cape town is home to the most genuine people I have ever met, some of the best food I have ever tasted, and this little town stole a piece of my heart. I cannot wait to go back and hike Lions Head, breathe in the fresh air, and take in the most beautiful sights this world has to offer.

Internships in Cape Town

Grace Severance

Healthcare Intern | Cape Town
Northeastern University
21 February 2017

I spent 3 months of the fall semester of my senior year of university working as an intern in a surgical unit at a hospital in Cape Town, South Africa. Working with both the surgeons and registrars was a unique experience - I got to observe how the medical staff diagnosed, treated, and cared for patient on a daily basis. My relationship with the physicians was friendly and professional, and they were always helpful in explaining all the medical terminology and diagnostic reasoning to me. I also had opportunities to observe a public clinic an hour from Cape Town and see how healthcare was delivered on a local scale. I can highly recommend Connect-123 for anyone interested in doing an internship in Cape Town. The staff was prompt, professional, and always looking to help the interns in whatever way they could. I was able to learn a lot about South African culture and they, in turn, were interested in learning about American culture. Connect-123 is a dependable organization whose primary goal is to optimize the experiences of its participants. I would recommend this specific internship to any student interested in medicine, pre-PA, and nursing.

Internships in Cape Town

Alexandra Aldieri

Pharmacy Intern | Dublin
Northeastern University
21 February 2017

I always knew I wanted to intern abroad and Connect-123 helped find a great opportunity in Ireland. I worked for a college research department in Dublin, and everything about my experience was unforgettable. It’s difficult for an American student to find pharmacy research abroad, so I can’t thank Connect-123 enough for helping me find the perfect research position. The professor that I worked closely with was an incredibly kind and generous mentor. He often treated me for tea and we would sit and discuss anything from our research project to life and travel. It was something I never expected from my internship, but something I’ll never forget. I came to Europe alone and not knowing what to expect, but I met so many people along the way that were supportive and a lot of fun. Dublin felt like home and everything good you’ve heard about the Irish is true. My best memories are thanks to my Dublin Connect-123 family. I miss it and I highly recommend working with Connect-123 for the opportunity to travel, work, and have the time of your life.

Internships in Dublin

Yana Martysevich

Public Health Intern | Cape Town
CUNY - Center on Philanthropy & Civil Society
19 February 2017

I've had a wonderful stay in Cape Town, South Africa. It is an amazing city! Connect-123 went above and beyond to get me this internship and without exaggerating, it has been one of the best experiences in my life! My program coordinator is absolutely wonderful and she will tell you everything you need to know about Cape town! If you're looking for a great way to live abroad, gain unmatched work experience, and have the time of your life, this program is for you.

Internships in Cape Town

Kaleigh Keown

Nursing Intern | Cape Town
Catholic University of Leuven
17 February 2017

The five weeks I spent in Cape Town, South Africa, were five weeks I will never forget. Although I was over 7,000 miles away from a single person I knew, I felt completely prepared thanks to Connect-123. I began my internship at a hospital in the city and when that experience did not exactly go as planned, Connect-123 was quick to change my setting and give me the most out of my time in Cape Town. I was not only able to experience the South African healthcare culture through my internship, but staying in the city allowed me to absorb as much of the Cape Town atmosphere as possible. During my trip, I experienced hiking, shark cage diving, rugby games, surfing, winery tours, a Robben Island tour, a Langa Township tour, a trip to Boulder’s Beach organized by Connect-123, among many others. I only wish that I would have stayed longer than five weeks!

Internships in Cape Town

Isaac Rooney

Healthcare Intern | Cape Town
University of Vermont
15 February 2017

Cape Town gave me without a doubt, the most educational, eye-opening, and exploration-filled two months of my life. The experience my internship gave me was unlike any I could’ve imagined. Working in a hospital in South Africa exposed me to more than I ever could have been exposed to in the U.S. and has given me both a unique and favorable addition to my resume. Since getting home, I’ve been telling friends that Cape Town is the one place in the world where you can truly do anything. One day you could be hiking table mountain, the next you could be surfing, and the next you could be shark cage diving or visiting Kirstenbosch, the massive botanical garden. Going into my internship in South Africa, I was very unsure, as I’m sure mostly everyone was. Having returned home, I can confidently say I made the best possible choice on where to spend my two month internship. I felt as though Sough Africa wasn’t a place I would get another chance to visit and having taken the opportunity, I couldn’t be happier with my decision.

Internships in Cape Town

Sarah Banks

Physical Therapy Intern | Buenos Aires
University of Colorado at Boulder
25 January 2017

Connect-123 was one of my favorite experiences in my life. When I was first inquiring about the program, I was skeptical because of all the high reviews and the fact that there was not one low review. But this program is real and it is what it appears to be. After I graduated college I wanted to get some real world experience in a physical therapy setting where I was able to also practice Spanish. C-123's program coordinators were able to help me get that experience and so much more. Besides what I learned in my internship, I made life long friends, was able to travel, and spend 7 months living in Buenos Aires, Argentina! I am so grateful to have been able to have this experience that exceeded my expectations!

Internships in Buenos Aires

Mariam Said

Architecture Intern | Dublin
London Metropolitan University, UK
5 January 2017

Dublin! THE best decision I have made to date. At first I was doubting the decision but I always say to myself, "if it does not work out, that is a lesson I will learn, and if it does work out it will be the best experience of my life". Interning in Dublin WAS the best experience of my life. Not just because I was in a beautiful country with beautiful people but because Connect-123 introduced me with the best intern firm EVER! My manager was amazing. The most terrifying thing about working abroad is if you will like your workplace, but Connect-123 made sure that they put me in the best environment possible. My manager was extremely helpful, he was a mentor… a friend. I also met wonderful other interns at the same time. I never once felt alone, despite moving to a country for 8 months without knowing anyone, but in these situations you can never be worried because everyone in Dublin are just genuinely friendly and helpful and have so much love and respect to give. Most importantly Connect-123 are always by your side, theres always someone that you can reach out to. I can vouch for that. I was extremely lucky. I learned so much about architecture, about living and surviving on my own. I learned about myself and other people and culture too. Dublin is a spectacular city and there is always so much to do. My advice is "don't think about it too much, experience makes you wiser. Whether it is a good or bad one, always learn something from it." Just do it, especially with Connect-123 they are truly the best! Honestly, Connect-123, THANK YOU SO MUCH!

Internships in Dublin