Reviews

Real stories from real participants, parents and university partners who share their experiences as well as their advice. Learn more about the benefits Connect-123 interns and volunteers receive on our programs around the world!

Scroll down to view all – or filter by destination, opportunity or both.

Destination

Opportunity

Samantha Warwar

Public Health Intern | Cape Town
Ohio State University
21 February 2017

Sitting down to write one paragraph about my experience in Cape town is one of the hardest things I've had to do. There are not enough words and definitely not enough space to capture everything I want to tell you about this trip. So I'll try my best to keep it concise (and not to cry) as I recall all of the amazing things about this internship. The summer after my first year in medical school, I went to Cape Town to intern with Connect-123 in the Public Health program. I spent 4 weeks interning in a hospital where I observed surgeries, rounded with some of Cape Town's most prestigious doctors, and helped care for the most memorable patients. If you are considering a field in medicine this is the best opportunity because you are a part of a care team managing some of the most sick patients in the world. You will see and do things that you once thought you would only read about in textbooks. As for the rest of the trip, me and a group of girls and guys became friends instantly. This is the kind of friendship that you dream about developing on a trip like this. We were from all over the world and I learned about the world from their stories in a way that I have never experienced before. We all fell in love with Cape town together, it is impossible not to if you go. Cape town is home to the most genuine people I have ever met, some of the best food I have ever tasted, and this little town stole a piece of my heart. I cannot wait to go back and hike Lions Head, breathe in the fresh air, and take in the most beautiful sights this world has to offer.

Internships in Cape Town

Yana Martysevich

Public Health Intern | Cape Town
CUNY - Center on Philanthropy & Civil Society
19 February 2017

I've had a wonderful stay in Cape Town, South Africa. It is an amazing city! Connect-123 went above and beyond to get me this internship and without exaggerating, it has been one of the best experiences in my life! My program coordinator is absolutely wonderful and she will tell you everything you need to know about Cape town! If you're looking for a great way to live abroad, gain unmatched work experience, and have the time of your life, this program is for you.

Internships in Cape Town

Isaac Rooney

Healthcare Intern | Cape Town
University of Vermont
15 February 2017

Cape Town gave me without a doubt, the most educational, eye-opening, and exploration-filled two months of my life. The experience my internship gave me was unlike any I could’ve imagined. Working in a hospital in South Africa exposed me to more than I ever could have been exposed to in the U.S. and has given me both a unique and favorable addition to my resume. Since getting home, I’ve been telling friends that Cape Town is the one place in the world where you can truly do anything. One day you could be hiking table mountain, the next you could be surfing, and the next you could be shark cage diving or visiting Kirstenbosch, the massive botanical garden. Going into my internship in South Africa, I was very unsure, as I’m sure mostly everyone was. Having returned home, I can confidently say I made the best possible choice on where to spend my two month internship. I felt as though Sough Africa wasn’t a place I would get another chance to visit and having taken the opportunity, I couldn’t be happier with my decision.

Internships in Cape Town

Sarah Banks

Physical Therapy Intern | Buenos Aires
University of Colorado at Boulder
25 January 2017

Connect-123 was one of my favorite experiences in my life. When I was first inquiring about the program, I was skeptical because of all the high reviews and the fact that there was not one low review. But this program is real and it is what it appears to be. After I graduated college I wanted to get some real world experience in a physical therapy setting where I was able to also practice Spanish. C-123's program coordinators were able to help me get that experience and so much more. Besides what I learned in my internship, I made life long friends, was able to travel, and spend 7 months living in Buenos Aires, Argentina! I am so grateful to have been able to have this experience that exceeded my expectations!

Internships in Buenos Aires

Mariam Said

Architecture Intern | Dublin
London Metropolitan University, UK
5 January 2017

Dublin! THE best decision I have made to date. At first I was doubting the decision but I always say to myself, "if it does not work out, that is a lesson I will learn, and if it does work out it will be the best experience of my life". Interning in Dublin WAS the best experience of my life. Not just because I was in a beautiful country with beautiful people but because Connect-123 introduced me with the best intern firm EVER! My manager was amazing. The most terrifying thing about working abroad is if you will like your workplace, but Connect-123 made sure that they put me in the best environment possible. My manager was extremely helpful, he was a mentor… a friend. I also met wonderful other interns at the same time. I never once felt alone, despite moving to a country for 8 months without knowing anyone, but in these situations you can never be worried because everyone in Dublin are just genuinely friendly and helpful and have so much love and respect to give. Most importantly Connect-123 are always by your side, theres always someone that you can reach out to. I can vouch for that. I was extremely lucky. I learned so much about architecture, about living and surviving on my own. I learned about myself and other people and culture too. Dublin is a spectacular city and there is always so much to do. My advice is "don't think about it too much, experience makes you wiser. Whether it is a good or bad one, always learn something from it." Just do it, especially with Connect-123 they are truly the best! Honestly, Connect-123, THANK YOU SO MUCH!

Internships in Dublin

Mary Malone

Arts Administration Intern | Dublin
Bellhaven University
27 December 2016

My time in Ireland was an experience that I will never forget. Because of Connect-123, I was placed at an internship at a museum that I absolutely loved, and I gained valuable experience in my field. In addition, I made friendships and went on adventures that I will always treasure. I am so grateful to Connect-123 for making my summer in Ireland possible!

Internships in Dublin

Lynsey Schafer

Occupational Therapy Intern | Dublin
Assumption College
11 December 2016

This summer, I was blessed with the opportunity to be an intern in Ireland. Before this experience, I had never been outside of the United States so traveling internationally was a new experience for me. Connect-123 helped calm most of my nerves and hesitations about traveling independently, living in a new home for two months, and having an international internship. Throughout the process, Connect-123 was quick to answer all of my questions and helped guide me. Although this experience is one of independence and self-discovery, Connect-123 tries their best to help you when you need it. Connect-123 did an amazing job of finding, not one, but three internship options for me! It was great to be able to have a wide variety of choices that related to my field of interest. The internship that I ultimately chose was a perfect fit. I worked under two wonderful and talented people who welcomed me with open arms and helped me to feel right at home. Ireland will forever have a piece of my heart and I wouldn’t have had the experience that I did if it wasn’t for Connect-123.

Internships in Dublin

Angie Shearon

Health Care Intern | Dublin
University of Arizona
10 December 2016

Completing a Connect-123 internship was one of the best decisions I’ve made, not only for my career but for my growth as a person. It was my first time travelling away from home for such a long period, but they made everything go so smoothly that I had nothing to be nervous about. The internship was so perfect for me and was exactly what I was looking for! My supervisors made me feel extremely comfortable asking questions and made sure I got everything out of it that I wanted to. I gained so much from working in a hospital, it helped build my resume, I made strong connections with people who will support me through my career path, and it helped me figure out more of what I want out of my future job. Not only was I given the chance to assist with research, but I got to shadow a well-known doctor at the hospital and observe what he does every day. I got to see up close how he stayed calm and handled stressful situations, how he interacted with each patient on a personal level, and how he genuinely cared about giving every person the best possible care. This taught me a lot about the kind of doctor I want to be someday, and I will never forget the experience. What made this experience as amazing as it was were the livelong friends I made along the way. Connect-123 made it very easy to meet everyone in the program because of group events we did so regularly, like getting burgers after work or meeting up for Irish dancing lessons. They provided us with information about fun things to experience while in Ireland and gave us tips about traveling to other countries as well. I wouldn’t trade the memories from this summer for anything, and I am certain that the friends I made abroad will be friends I have throughout my life.

Internships in Dublin

Craig Marshall

Music and Publishing Intern | Dublin
SUNY at Oneonta
7 December 2016

If you're looking to go abroad as well as gain experience in your field of studies, then Connect-123 is the program for you! I went to Dublin, Ireland in the fall of 2016 and my time spent there will be cherished for the rest of my life. The staff is extremely helpful in finding an internship to fit your interests. In the time I was there, I interned for both a publishing company and a radio station working on tasks like promotion, journalism, and presenting. Along with working in your field, Connect-123 also offers various opportunities to network with other people in the program as well as others who cross your path on this amazing journey! Thank you Connect-123 for making this dream of going abroad become a reality.

Internships in Dublin

Pemanee Damrasmongkonsakul

Tourism Intern | Barcelona
Ritsumeikan Asia Pacific University
5 December 2016

It was my last semester before university graduation in March 2017, so I wanted to spend time to discover new things overseas. My case was so complicated at first due to my visa and others documents required (I was studying in Japan by that time), but thanks to Connect-123, all those things became much more easier for me. Their quick response to my questions and their experience of having interns abroad, assisted me in getting an opportunity to have an internship here in Barcelona. Barcelona is an amazing city where you can definitely enjoy the stunning attractions during the day and go out to Spain’s best city for party at night. Not only beautiful architecture by Gaudi, but also its people who I would say very friendly and most easy-going people I’ve ever met. I always go somewhere by walking and get lost in different places which make me find out things about this city. It is super cool just to get lost here because the hidden gems are everywhere just around the corner. I really enjoyed my time here, including the company where I interned with is also incredible! Not even a second that I regret to come here.

Internships in Barcelona

Adriana De Lucio

Human Rights Intern | Cape Town
Northeastern University
1 December 2016

At the end of 2015, I accepted the exciting opportunity to do an internship abroad at a nonprofit geared towards promoting women’s rights in an unfamiliar location—Cape Town, South Africa. While I was a little nervous about traveling outside of my comfort zone, I knew this would be an unforgettable experience; so, in late January of 2016, I left my home in Washington, D.C. for the Mother City. For five months, I worked at a three-stage shelter for destitute, abused, and disadvantaged women and their children. On top of providing temporary shelter, the organization also provides its female residents with legal counseling, skills classes and workshops, and access to a child’s daycare center and preschool. During my time there, I not only worked on meaningful projects like creating a residential database and an online fundraising campaign, but I met and worked with inspirational women and children that have further motivated me to become a strong proponent of social change through their own passion for fighting injustices and personal stories. In addition to learning outside of the university classroom about the nonprofit sector, I gained knowledge about my host country through exploring it with my new friends. I went bungee jumping in Bloukrans, shark-cage diving in Gainbaai, wine-tasting in Franschhoek, on a safari trip in Kruger National Park, and sandboarding in Atlantis. Inside the city, I tried foreign Cape-Malay cuisine, watched a play about apartheid, spectated a Springboks rugby match, and hiked the iconic Table Mountain. My overall experience in Cape Town allowed me to learn more about my area of academic interest and myself as a person. The five months I spent in Cape Town were truly transformative and I’m grateful to Connect-123 for the memorable adventure.

Internships in Cape Town

Jesse Endert

Environmental Law Intern | Cape Town
Michigan State University
25 November 2016

This opportunity gave me the drive I had been searching for to reach for my dreams. This was my first time being in a different country, but it was as if I was meant to be there. The moment you drive to the city center from the airport you see the diversity Cape Town has to offer. This city has its challenges with poverty, but the people are what made me look beyond what can be seen. I had to step out of my comfort zone because there were cultural differences, but I had a life changing experience and became more independent. I discovered where my passion lies. I figured out who I am as a person. I spent three months working for an NGO against illegal wildlife trade based in Cape Town. My boss was passionate about what he worked for and that enthusiasm was contagious. He made sure that I got the most out of my internship and the most out of my time in Cape Town. My own research had been used in scientific working group meetings and I later coauthored a published document with my boss. This was my first experience in a work setting where I felt I belonged. My experiences on a safari, viewing the city from the top of Table Mountain, and kayaking in the ocean cannot be described with words. I would not have had the same experience without Connect-123. My internship coordinator made sure that I had everything I needed and continues to be a great friend even after I left Cape Town. I can say the same about everyone I met through Connect-123. Interning through Connect-123 prepared me for my dreams of living abroad. In fact, I will soon be independently returning to Cape Town to continue my internship, but for an extended period of 5 to 6 months. I could not be more thankful for this opportunity and I highly recommend that you try it too.

Internships in Cape Town

Samantha Telgkamp

Child Life Intern | Cape Town
Ohio University
16 November 2016

While in class studying to become a child life specialist, I am taught over and over that play is the universal language of childhood. It was not until I immersed myself in a whole new culture across the world, when I realized the truth to this statement. Having the opportunity to work with so many different children, in all sorts of settings, speaking many of the different languages native to South Africa was incredible. Recognizing how play is a language we all can "speak" and understand and its importance to a child is a lesson whose impact goes much further than the classroom. While I sit in class or am talking with my friends, I am always finding myself relating whatever the discussion is to my experience in Cape Town. I miss it so much, and could never thank Connect-123 enough for all you did to make my experience greater than anything I imagined.

Internships in Cape Town

Zachary Winters

Engineering Intern | Dublin
Arizona State University
13 November 2016

This past summer I had the wonderful opportunity to take part in biomedical research as an internship in Dublin, Ireland. I had previously been to Dublin before in the past and loved my time there, but was truly blessed to be able to fully immerse myself in Irish culture for a whole summer. Whether visiting the Cliffs of Moher, exploring the various local pubs, or lazily relaxing with my fellow interns, the memories gained on this trip will last a lifetime. All of the skills and experience gained throughout my internship this past summer were too numerous to count. Even more importantly, however, were the connections I made with not only people at my internship, but with fellow Connect-123 interns. The relationships gained and the experience as a whole will be something I never forget, and I am very thankful I was able to take part in such an amazing opportunity.

Internships in Dublin

Isabel Symancyk

Arts Intern | Buenos Aires
Warren Wilson College
10 November 2016

Planning my time in Buenos Aires months beforehand up until I arrived at the airport felt like a dream. I couldn’t imagine what it would be like, what challenges I would face, what emotions I would experience. My goal in travelling to a country abroad was to learn about the culture, learn the language, and learn more about myself. Although I knew it would be challenging, living on my own in a new country provided many new learning experiences. I had to buy groceries, cook, navigate a large city, as well as speak a language that is fairly new to me, while also staying on top of my work as an intern, and budgeting my expenses. Although it is easy to understand that there are other cultures in this world besides your own, living and experiencing another culture is completely different. As soon as I arrived, there was something about the unpredictability, the architectural beauty, the prevalence of art and activism that I found solace in. At first, the differences between Buenos Aires and my home town were overwhelming, but since my arrival it has become more routine given the housing and work Connect-123 found for me. I feel very at home here even though this city is so large that it is hard to know all of it. Between the museums, ferias, parques, two months in Buenos Aires is definitely not enough, and I hope to return as soon as I am able to continue admiring this beautiful country.

Internships in Buenos Aires

Sharon Wohl

Youth Leadership Intern | Dublin
SUNY at Oneonta
9 November 2016

I spent the fall semester of my senior year interning in Dublin, Ireland. I volunteered at a youth centre and got to interact with children ages 6-18 in a variety of ways including leadership, sports, art, and music. I was given a lot of responsibility within the centre and even took charge of the art projects we lead for the after school program. My experiences working with the youth of Dublin will greatly benefit my career within the helping professional field. In addition to my internship, I also travelled all around Ireland. From the lively city of Dublin, to what seems like 'the end of the world' in the west at the Cliffs of Moher, to the historical city of Belfast in the north, the picturesque coastline of the south and all the rolling green hills in between. Whether I was listening to live music in a pub, eating stew and brown bread or planning for the next adventure, I had a smile on my face throughout it all and I thoroughly enjoyed my time in Ireland. Interning through Connect-123 is an excellent way to gain knowledge, learn about other cultures, travel, and access skills to be used towards future jobs.

Internships in Dublin

Kristine Wright

Nursing Intern | Cape Town
Palm Beach State College
25 October 2016

During my time in Cape Town I was based in a fantastic government hospital and got to work with some incredible doctors and nurses. I observed open heart surgeries, organ donation surgeries and transplants. I thoroughly enjoyed exploring Cape Town and Langebaan in particular was awesome! I took a kite boarding course and spent most of my free time surfing and kite boarding! I found Cape Town to be very laid back and a great place to visit and hike!

Internships in Cape Town

Krista Rodriguez

Animal Science Intern | Buenos Aires
Michigan State University
24 October 2016

I had the opportunity to travel to Buenos Aires for my summer in 2016. Although I had prepared for most of the year until then, I wasn't quite sure what to expect before I got off the plane. This was the longest that I had spent away from home, and certainly the longest time I had spent in a foreign country that didn't speak my native language. Thankfully I did not have to worry long. I was set up with a wonderful housing and internship placement. I was able to make connections with my boss and coworkers that I still keep to this day, and my Spanish improved in leaps and bounds to where it was before. Thanks to the connections that I made in country, I had experiences I would have never gotten as a tourist. It was amazing being able to really be a part of the Argentinian community, which is full of incredibly helpful and kind people.

Internships in Buenos Aires

Helen Bonnyman

Education Intern | Buenos Aires
Rice University
20 October 2016

During my gap year before starting as a freshman at Rice University, I interned for 3 months as a teacher’s assistant at a preschool in Buenos Aires. It was a super great experience: my Spanish skills improved tremendously, I gained valuable experience working with children, and I immersed myself in the porteño culture. My internship was certainly hard at times, mostly because of the language barrier between myself and the other teachers, I was enriched so much by getting to spend time with such adorable children. Outside my internship, I loved taking classes at the language school Connect-123 referred me too. The teachers there were excellent and I made friends with several of the other students there from Europe and the US. This was my first time living on my own, which presented some of the biggest challenges of my trip, but our program coordinator was always there if I needed help. I like the way being a Connect-123 intern provided me with a network of new friends to explore Buenos Aires and Argentina with. There were many planned activities us interns could join in on, but C-123 was appropriately hands-off so that our experiences could be as unstructured as we wanted. We were in charge of shaping our own experiences. The highlight of my 3-month time in Argentina was the trip I took to Patagonia with some friends from Connect-123. I would certainly recommend a Connect-123 internship to anyone looking for an educational and fun experience that can be as structured or as free as you wish.

Internships in Buenos Aires

Christine Oswald

Human Rights Intern | Cape Town
Ohio State University
10 October 2016

The summer I spent in Cape Town was a life changing experience. I made life-long friends and grew so much as a person. I was able to intern with a fantastic organization that does aid work in townships throughout South Africa. Not only did my coworkers treat me like family but the internship allowed me to see a side of Cape Town that a typical tourist would not have been exposed to. Connect-123 was incredibly helpful in helping me adjust to the city and plan events with other interns. Along with organized outings, the Connect staff lent me several books to help with planning a road trip and even helped me find a hotel for my mom when she visited. I would recommend this program to anyone who is a little unsure about traveling to a new place completely by yourself. Connect-123 provides a solid support system while giving you enough space to explore and learn how to navigate a foreign country on you own. The skills and experiences I have taken away from Cape Town will stay with me for the rest of my life.

Internships in Cape Town