Reviews

Real stories from real participants, parents and university partners who share their experiences as well as their advice. Learn more about the benefits Connect-123 interns and volunteers receive on our programs around the world!

Scroll down to view all – or filter by destination, opportunity or both.

Destination

Opportunity

Maya Rugama

Human Rights Intern | Virtual / Remote
University of Southern California
21 October 2020

I am so grateful to have discovered this opportunity through my university. Connect-123 was very deliberate in pairing me with an internship that I would enjoy and in a field that I was interested in. I was ultimately paired with a human rights lawyer in Barcelona and I have learned so much from her and from the work that I am doing. Being a virtual intern has strengthened and developed so many valuable skills for me, not only through the very well-organized internship but also through the virtual experience. Through all of the bumps in the road along the way, Connect-123 was there to provide me support. They helped me figure out the issues I was having, offered solutions, and gave me what I needed to proceed with confidence. The workshops and discussions also contributed greatly to my personal and professional development. Connect-123 doesn't just put you in an internship, they make sure that you're able to grow in your position and be able to use it in your future endeavors. I highly recommend pursuing an international, virtual internship through Connect-123!

Talent Mangai

Finance Intern | Virtual / Remote
United States International University-Africa
28 August 2020

Connect-123 offers the most amazing opportunities that allow you to explore more about your career path. Despite the fact that we are in the midst of a pandemic, they still made sure that I got the best experience. Honestly, I wasn't sure if I was pursuing the right career and when I applied for the Connect-123 virtual internship, I wanted to do a test run to see if I was heading in the right direction. One of the things I really liked about Connect-123 is that they tailor-make and customize your internship experience to suit what you are looking for and what you want to get out of it, the experience is unique for everyone. I was placed in an Accounting firm that provided me with valuable knowledge and hands-on experience in the accounting field. I also liked the fact that once they place you in an organization, they always check up on you to make sure everything is going well and they organize very insightful seminars that help you get through the internship smoothly. They walk with you all the way. Now I can confidently say that I am pursuing the right career. Thanks to Connect-123!

Lindsey Hart

Human Rights Intern | Virtual / Remote
Michigan State University
28 August 2020

I’m a senior at Michigan State University with a major in International Relations and a minor in Muslim Studies. This summer I did a remote internship with a women's rights group in Dublin, Ireland. I got paired with them through Connect-123 and I don’t think Connect-123 could have picked a better organization for my internship. The NGO's work is near and dear to my heart and they work in a field that I want to pursue a career in. Early on in the internship, it became clear to me that it was the place I was supposed to be for my internship. The women there are all incredible people and we worked fantastically together, not to mention I was doing work that meant a great deal to me. When it came to pairing me with them, Connect-123 did such a phenomenal job. They took my interests and career goals and found me the perfect internship. As for working remotely this summer, it certainly wasn’t what I had planned. I had a study abroad lined up for this summer which got canceled due to the pandemic. I was hesitant at first to work remotely, but in the end, I’m glad I decided to participate in the internship program. In the beginning, it was a little difficult to adjust to remote work, simply because I’d never done anything like it before, but in the end, I learned so many valuable and marketable skills. I learned things like balancing my work and home life, how to better manage my time, and how to work independently on large projects. With so much uncertainty about the future due to the pandemic, having remote work experience under my belt helps ease some of my worries about finding a job in a pandemic. It’s something I would recommend to anyone considering doing a remote internship.

Julia Harlan

Engineering Intern | Virtual / Remote
University of Colorado Boulder
28 August 2020

I am a senior at University of Colorado Boulder! This summer I worked with Connect-123 and they helped me find a virtual internship in Dublin, Ireland. I had planned to go abroad to Cape Town, but due to the pandemic, I had to make other plans and rather quickly. Connect-123 was able to take my skills and experience and connect me with an environmental engineering project that I worked on for 8 weeks this summer. Over the course of my internship, I did data analysis of crops, forestry, and manure, research on biomass conversion technologies, and technical writing to sum up the research. One of the most challenging aspects of my virtual internship was the time difference. We only had 3-4 hours of overlap in our time zones, so it was very difficult at the beginning to communicate. With tips and advice from the Connect-123 staff, I was able to communicate effectively with my supervisors even though we were in completely different parts of the world. On the other hand, my favorite part of Connect-123 was the community aspect. We had a Whatsapp group-chat with all of the students who got internships through Connect-123 as well as the Connect-123 staff. I found this tool extremely helpful because it was a place where people could share their experiences, ask questions, get career advice, and not feel judged at all. I actually just got a job that is in person at the engineering center at CU. My virtual internship this summer definitely helped me in the process, as it showed that I had virtual experience working with others. Overall, it was a great experience in my internship and with Connect-123, I would definitely recommend others to try this process out as well!

Hieu Nguyen

Medical Intern | Virtual / Remote
Washington and Lee University
20 August 2020

Before COVID-19 spread like wildfire, I was so excited to hear that I was interning in Cape Town, South Africa. I could not sleep that night when I received the acceptance letter from my program coordinator at W&L University. However, my dreams and hopes were shattered overnight when school was canceled and my dream internship was off the map. I found myself slowly losing hope and desperately alone, but I am glad that the story doesn’t end there. When I found out that Connect-123 had launched their virtual internship program, I saw a glimmer of hope. I was placed into a medical research team in South Africa that broadened my horizons and connected me with many other like-minded researchers. Even though I had to wake up very early because of the time zone, I truly enjoyed the experience. I am glad that I got to work on a research project and met new people. Through this whole process, I learned things about myself that I never fully realized. I am much more resilient than I think I am. Also, this whole experience was a test on my positivity that I know I came out better than before. I really appreciate Connect-123 and everyone for making my 2020 summer more meaningful.

Audrey Damman

Human Rights Intern | Virtual / Remote
Michigan State University
5 August 2020

I found out about Connect-123 through my University. Due to COVID-19 I felt very lost about what my next steps were in regard to gaining experience during my undergraduate years. At first, I was hesitant to apply, as I wasn’t sure if it was right for me. Contrary to my insecurities, Connect-123 presented the support and opportunities I needed to move past my doubts. I felt so comfortable speaking with the advisors who all seemed so genuinely interested in my well-being. The relationship fostered through the program both with my advisors and my internship co-workers made my experience comfortable, and something I looked forward to. I would 100% recommend Connect-123 if you are searching for an internship because they really care.

Rachel Moore

Human Rights Intern | Virtual / Remote
Michigan State University
5 August 2020

After a semester of uncertainty and no clear summer plans, I learned about the virtual internship opportunities Connect-123 had to offer students. I was immediately drawn to learning more about Connect-123’s placement process and the internships they could offer to students. I inquired more, and I explained what my ideal internship experience would entail. Connect-123 placed me into the exact internship that I described. I am incredibly grateful for this agency and how much they value the success of all of their interns. I am so happy I found this internship through Connect-123 and that I gained this valuable experience despite the global pandemic.

Shannon Lustiber

Medical Intern | Virtual / Remote
University of Vermont
3 August 2020

When I first discovered I could no longer travel abroad to Cape Town due to COVID-19, I was incredibly disappointed. But the Connect-123 program handled the situation better than I could’ve hoped for, still providing me with a highly valuable and challenging internship! I was able to have an amazing opportunity to apply myself and learn new skills while developing a research proposal. I also gained valuable experience that will help guide me in my future academic and career pathways. While miles apart, I still felt highly connected and welcomed by the coordinators, other interns, and my supervisor. The program coordinators were always positive and available to help us during these uncertain times, and I am more than grateful for this virtual experience. Hopefully, I will get the chance to travel to Cape Town in the future!

Tinevimbo Takawira

Human Rights Intern | Virtual / Remote
United States International University-Africa
28 July 2020

After a referral by someone, I found myself on the Connect-123 website. Just like any other program, I went through the reviews by other alumni interns who had worked with the organization. The amazing reviews gave me confidence and assurance that Connect-123 was the best fit for me. I did my application for a virtual internship and it went smoothly as the Connect-123 team is very responsive and professional. They found me an opportunity at an organization in Argentina and in no time I was in touch with my supervisor. Apart from finding me an organization to work with, Connect-123 went ahead to host seminars which helped me a lot through the virtual internship program without any challenges. They also have an amazing way of answering all questions and give you amazing and satisfying feedback through a flowing communication system. Amidst the COVID-19 pandemic, Connect-123 offered the amazing remote internship program which is a counter to geographical barriers. From Kenya, I got to work in Argentina without having to be there physically.
If you are looking for an internship, look no more. Connect-123 is there for you to offer you a quality internship and a lifetime experience.

Caroline Murphy

Environmental Intern | Virtual / Remote
University of Southern California
31 July 2020

The Connect-123 team handled the unexpected changes that came with COVID-19 with grace and flexibility. Although the Summer of 2020 turned out differently than planned, I still had the opportunity to work for and connect with professionals on the other side of the world to complete an impactful internship. Connect-123 took the challenge to deliver remote internships head-on, and I'm so grateful I still had the opportunity to experience an international internship!

Kelley Laxton

Journalism Intern | Virtual / Remote
University of Colorado Boulder
28 July 2020

In May of 2020, my dreams of interning in a different country were shattered when COVID-19 hit. All study abroad programs were canceled and many in-person internships in my hometown were postponed. When my school reached out about the Connect-123 virtual internship program, I jumped at the chance to work for an international company. Eight weeks later, I can confidently say that interning for a company in Dublin, Ireland was the best decision of my life. It can be intimidating to work for a company overseas all online but it can also provide you with skills many interns don’t have the opportunity to learn.

Shannon Wright

Finance Intern | Virtual / Remote
Washington and Lee University
23 July 2020

I was originally supposed to go to Cape Town through Connect-123. While I was disappointed when I was not able to go, Connect-123 offered me an amazing opportunity to do a virtual internship. They were able to find me the perfect internship where I was both valued and challenged. Throughout the summer, Connect-123 has hosted a variety of virtual meetings to help us excel in our internships. Not only that, but they have continuously been there for each of us to answer questions and give advice. I am extremely grateful for everyone at Connect-123 and their dedication and willingness to guide us during a unique summer.

Stacy Brehman

Human Rights Intern | Virtual / Remote
Pennsylvania State University
23 July 2020

As an International Politics major, it has always been within my plans to find an internship internationally. Throughout my search for how to make this process as painless as possible, I ran across Connect-123 and was instantly interested. I had heard many great reviews from previous students having experiences with Connect-123, so I decided to trust their process and take a chance on an experience of a lifetime!

After working with Connect-123’s coordinators, I got paired with a gender-based violence organization in Cape Town, South Africa! However, as the world started to suffer from the COVID-19 pandemic, I was unable to travel and work in South Africa due to travel restrictions, but the staff at Connect-123 was with me through all of the challenges by providing very enhanced and creative alternate solutions. I was still able to participate in the internship remotely with the same organization where I worked on their program, workshop, and counseling development by doing lots of research and compiling information to create manuals and guides for social workers to use within their programming. While it was not the summer I had imagined, I still gained a lot of skills that will be useful in our technology-centered world going forward. Throughout the summer, Connect-123 was right there with me by providing professional development seminars and fun, cultural sessions to introduce us to our would-be destinations. I will always be grateful to the support that Connect-123 has given me through this unprecedented time.

Cheltsea Marte

Finance Intern | Virtual / Remote
Pennsylvania State University
23 July 2020

With a pandemic on the rise, I lost all hope of finding an internship that fits with what I want to do after college. During this time, I received the news of everything being canceled. Soon after, I found Connect-123, this was a great opportunity. When starting the program, I was afraid that I wasn’t going to have the best communication with my team and the work was going to be very challenging. Soon after the orientation with Connect-123, I felt comfortable and learned so many new skills related to different cultures, communication, and positive thinking. Soon after, I met my supervisors from my internship who made me feel like I’ve been apart of the team with their charisma and welcoming discussions. Throughout the whole internship, I was never lost and was always guided onto the right path.
I’m so glad that I found Connect-123, the experience was better than I could have expected. They helped find the perfect internship and made me feel appreciated for the work I did to help the organization. Definitely recommend others to join, if you can’t travel!

Liam Tierney

Finance Intern | Virtual / Remote
University of Colorado Boulder
23 July 2020

Due to Covid-19, my summer plans to study abroad in Argentina were canceled. Luckily, I was able to get a great virtual internship through Connect-123. I worked with them to get placed with an Argentinian company, which has been a great company to work with. Connect-123 has been very helpful along the way, constantly checking in to make sure I’m happy with everything. They have also offered various zoom meetings and seminars which have been very helpful and applicable for my internship. I can’t speak any higher of Connect-123, they have been helpful throughout the whole process.

Anya Aidun

Marketing Intern
University of Colorado Boulder
23 July 2020

As a business major, I was eager to explore global markets and business places. Even, with a pandemic, Connect-123 was able to provide an excellent internship program where I was able to learn about different cultures remotely. I don't think you will find any other internship program that is so dedicated to the success and wellbeing of their applicants and genuinely want to prepare them to succeed in the future. Connect-123 does incredible work finding their applicants the perfect internship and they were able to find me an internship where I was able to combine my passions of global business, women's empowerment, and sustainability. I was given the opportunity to work directly with the CEO and Founder on projects, engagement, and marketing which allowed me the opportunity to develop my business skills while also growing so much as an individual. Lea and Steven are the most caring and invested individuals and the perfect leaders for Connect-123. This has been the best internship experience of my entire life!

Collin Frazey

Economic Development Intern | Virtual / Remote
Washington and Lee University
23 July 2020

When the COVID-19 pandemic stripped away my plans to travel to Cape Town, I was nothing short of devastated. However, in joining Connect-123 for their virtual summer program, I not only found a rewarding internship along my career path but also became a part of an excellent community of fellow students. The support, career development seminars, and overall experience with Connect-123 was excellent and saved my 2020 summer.

Sherrine Boseman Rives

Business Intern | Virtual / Remote
Pennsylvania State University
21 July 2020

I have enjoyed my internship experience with Connect-123 immensely. I was paired with an organization that was really a great fit. The virtual aspect of my internship was unexpected as I had made plans to spend two months in Cape Town, South Africa. The pandemic changed those plans rather abruptly. However, everyone at Connect-123 was very helpful, and worked with me to coordinate a virtual internship. I feel that I would not have been able to pivot from an in person traditional internship experience to a virtual one without the responsiveness of the Connect-123 team.

The host organization I have been paired with has challenged me to use all of my talents and develop a few more. Every day during my assignment I am amazed at the breadth and scope of skills I use to complete tasks for the organization. It has been a great experience and I feel like I am a part of the host organization’s team. We meet almost daily and there are general staff meetings that I participate in from the United States.

It’s equally beneficial to be a part of the Connect-123 intern group. The organization provided virtual tours of Cape Town and Barcelona that were memorable. I have visited both countries before and I learned something new. The opportunity to listen to the achievements and talents of other Connect-123 participants has been invaluable and motivating. This has been an experience I will not soon forget. I will always have something positive and very interesting to share about my days during this life altering pandemic and I am very grateful.

Katherine Babbit

Human Rights Intern | Virtual / Remote
Carleton College
21 July 2020

I had an amazing experience interning with a non-profit which works to empower vulnerable communities in South Africa. I conducted research on gender-based violence within the environmental sector and assisted in both developing programming and garnering funding to address these issues. I loved having the opportunity to contribute to a cause that I felt passionate about and to explore the form of work I am interested in pursuing after college. It was definitely disappointing that the COVID-19 pandemic disrupted travel plans and prohibited me from visiting South Africa, but Connect-123 really helped make this virtual cross-cultural experience still meaningful. I was able to form a close connection with my supervisor, and I regularly interacted with other Connect-123 participants around the world through WhatsApp and Zoom. I can't wait to follow up on these connections in person someday in the future!

Olivia Rasmussen

Marketing Intern | Virtual / Remote
University of Colorado Boulder
22 July 2020

I was determined to make the most of the Summer after my sophomore year of college knowing that if I put in the work, more opportunities would come up for me down the road. Unfortunately, like the rest of the world, COVID-19 took away my perfectly planned out Summer of an internship abroad. I was left worried that one of my college Summers would be wasted away,  and I would lose time I wanted to be experimenting in the working world. Thankfully, I found Connect-123 and they placed me in a virtual internship. Through this internship, I have gained so much social media marketing experience. In more general terms though, I have gained many communication skills and got to feel like I am really making a difference in the company. This was the perfect way for me to transition everything I have learned in school up to this point and put it into the ‘real world’. The strengths I came in with have expanded, but I also have new skills and experiences in marketing that I did not have before.

18.207.102.38
United States
US
Ashburn
Virginia
VA
North America
NA

Dublin on-site programs are open!

Have a life-changing gap year, semester or summer internship experience in Dublin!
Learn About Our Dublin Internships
close-link