Reviews

Real stories from real participants, parents and university partners who share their experiences as well as their advice. Learn more about the benefits Connect-123 interns and volunteers receive on our programs around the world!

Scroll down to view all – or filter by destination, opportunity or both.

Destination

Opportunity

Emily Mayfield

Human Rights Intern | Cape Town
Dickinson College
12 June 2017

My three months in Cape Town were the best of my life thus far. As a transfer student taking a gap year, I wanted a rewarding internship experience overseas where I would not only learn a lot about the culture of the country I was living in, but also about myself. Connect-123 set me up with a fantastic internship at an LGBTI non-governmental organization. There, I conducted research on hate crimes legislation and post-rape care and learned about the South African government and how NGOs play an important role in getting legislation passed. I became more educated on South African politics and was even given the opportunity to attend a meeting at Parliament. My coworkers were great, and I became good friends with the other intern I worked with. When I was not working, I was soaking in all the amazing activities Cape Town has to offer. During my three months there, I sky-dived, bungee jumped off the highest bungee bridge in the world, snorkeled with seals, went surfing in the Indian and Atlantic Oceans, went paragliding, hiked mountains, canoed through a national park, went zip-lining, explored the beautiful Garden Route, went on safaris, relaxed on the beach, went on wine tours, and had a blast at several concerts. Connect-123 also organized events, including going to a rugby game, cooking a meal with other interns, eating at a restaurant in Bo-Kaap, taking a sunset cruise, and volunteering at a soup kitchen. Connect-123 did a great job checking in to make sure I was happy at my internship and in Cape Town. They were always there if I had a question or needed something in my apartment fixed. They also made great recommendations for things to do in South Africa and they really helped me make the most of my time there. The other interns with Connect-123 were some of the coolest people I’ve ever met. I definitely developed lifelong friendships and I am already planning future trips with my Connect-123 friends. If you are looking for a meaningful internship experience in one of the greatest cities in the world, I highly recommend looking into Connect-123’s Cape Town program. You will not regret it!

Internships in Cape Town

Kimberly Cohen

Nursing Intern | Cape Town
Northeastern University
2 June 2017

My experience with Connect-123 in Cape Town, South Africa has been one of the most valuable takeaways of my education. I was given the opportunity to split my time between two separate pediatric hospitals; an orthopedic, public hospital and an intermediate, public care facility. This pairing of independent care providers allowed me to get a broad understanding of the healthcare system in South Africa. I learned to be resourceful while still providing compassionate and thoughtful care, which is a mindset I can bring back to my nursing education at home.Connect-123 offered endless support through every step of my experience. They made sure my internship gave me every experience that I asked for. In addition to pairing me with a valuable volunteer opportunity, the Connect-123 office planned weekly or biweekly activities for the interns. We were able to go sand boarding one week and go to a traditional African dinner the next. They gave us information regarding upcoming events in the city and travel trips we could access at a discounted price. Cape Town is the perfect city for an array of activities. The city has mountains, beaches, vineyards, gardens, arenas, museums...all in one place! No length of time would be long enough to cover all that you can do there. I wholeheartedly recommend to consider interning in Cape Town, since there is no experience like it.

Internships in Cape Town

Tini Thomas

Healthcare Intern | Dublin
University Gr. T. Popa Iasi, Nigeria
27 May 2017

I graduated from medical school and had some time before moving to the next level, so I decided instead of just sitting and waiting, why not do something useful? I knew I wanted to do an internship in Dublin Ireland so I started googling for agents who could help me find one. I saw a couple but it was just so much work, then I stumbled on Connect-123. They were pretty straight forward with the process. They don't just abandon you when you get to your destination either, Connect-123 had all these events planned and always ready to assist. Thank you so much Connect-123, I met amazing people and enjoyed my time in Dublin. Definitely going back!

Internships in Dublin

Natalie Zahran

Business Intern | Barcelona
University of New Hampshire, Durham
25 May 2017

I came across Connect-123 when I was researching internships abroad. I decided to look into the program and found out it was a perfect match for my time abroad. I couldn't of had a better experience working with my program coordinator. She made herself available at all hours despite our 6 hour time difference and answered any and all question as complete as she could. Not only was Connect-123 helpful in helping find an internship abroad but also with housing accommodations. They referred me to a few different options until I found a perfect match for what I was looking for. The process made it extremely easy to find flights and transportation that worked for me. I also was extremely pleased with the orientation that they offered. I got to meet another intern as we learned a little about the history in Barcelona, got a complete guide to transportation, and were given helpful tips that would make our time more enjoyable and safe. Everyone at Connect-123 made themselves very accessible in case we need guidance. Also by offering a private Facebook group, interns are able to meet and makes plans to hangout. I would recommend Connect-123 to anyone who is seeking an internship abroad and I would highly consider going through the program again if I saw fit for any future endeavors. Thank you to everyone at Connect-123 who made my experience abroad enjoyable, memorable and safe!

Internships in Barcelona

Lacee Wagner

Social Work Intern | Dublin
Southern High School, Maryland
12 May 2017

I can't thank Connect-123 enough for my experience in Dublin, Ireland. I traveled alone to Dublin with not only the hopes of gaining experience overseas, but to learn more about myself. Little did I know that I would come across some of the greatest people I've ever met. Throughout the few weeks of being there, Connect-123 was amazing when it came to showing me around Ireland and making me feel right at home, it's truly the most beautiful place I've ever been. I feel extremely blessed to have been given this opportunity and would recommend it to everyone. I wish I could have stayed longer and can't wait to go back!

Internships in Dublin

Katherine Thomas

Nursing Intern | Cape Town
Northeastern University
8 May 2017

My experience with Connect-123 in Cape Town was amazing. I spent the best four months of my life in this city meeting the most wonderful people, eating and drinking at the most fantastic restaurants and bars, exploring countless activities in and outside the city, and learning at two exceptional hospitals. As a nursing student, I was able to gain new nursing skills, shadow during surgeries, participate in ward rounds, help and eventually do my own castings, and learn about a completely different healthcare system than my own. The pediatric patients and other healthcare workers we spent our time with were extremely welcoming, enthusiastic, and dedicated.When we weren’t working, we were taking advantage of the many attractions Cape Town has to offer, with tons of help from Connect-123. The program coordinators helped us with everything from figuring out how to turn on the hot water in our apartment to taking us out on a sunset cruise and sand boarding in the dunes outside Cape Town. I got to know amazing interns from all over the world and made lifelong memories and friendships. Cape Town allowed me to adventure more than I ever have before – we skydived, bungee humped off the highest bungee bridge in the world, traveled along the Garden Route, went on safaris, crawled through caves, hiked mountains, swam in waterfalls, shark cage dove, and paraglided. When our adrenaline wasn’t pumping, we were wine tasting, relaxing at the beach, hanging out on the rooftop pool, swimming with penguins, going to beautiful markets, watching rugby, attending the awesome museums, listening to live music in the gorgeous botanical gardens, and taking in the incredible views. I cannot imagine a more fun and interesting place to intern or a better program than Connect-123 in Cape Town!

Internships in Cape Town

Diya Khullar

Health Care Intern | Buenos Aires
Northeastern University
8 May 2017

My fear was that Connect Buenos Aires might be underwhelming after my Connect Cape Town quickly diminished! As usual, the other program participants, my supervisor, and hospital staff were as welcoming as possible. My internship at the hospital in Buenos Aires allowed me to explore every department I desired, from traumatology to dermatology to urology to emergency medicine. Furthermore, the proximity of the operating rooms made viewing surgeries of all different organs super accessible; I watched surgeries of the eye, uterus, kidney, brain, spine, hip, and so much more! Just like in South Africa, the doctors, scrub nurses, and pretty much everyone at the hospital not only educated us as students, but cared about us as human beings as well. This made forming relationships with the hospital staff and connections across the departments effortless. The culture in Buenos Aires is also extremely warm and inclusive of everyone, making it easy to venture out and make friends with porteños. There are so many beautiful shows and sights to see around the city that getting bored is simply not an option. Overall, I would recommend the Connect-123 experience in Buenos Aires to anyone keen on expanding their knowledge of Spanish while interning in his/her desired field!

Internships in Buenos Aires

Jaimie Grace

Law Intern | Dublin
Texas State University at San Marcos
5 May 2017

Connect-123 was an amazing experience that allowed me to live in Dublin and work at an Irish law firm. Not only was I able to experience day to day life in an office, I was able to attend a number of court cases my firm was involved with. Besides an amazing work experience, Connect-123 gave me the opportunity to travel around Ireland and other parts of Europe. I can honestly say this was one of the best experiences of my life!

Internships in Dublin

Nina Epifanova

Journalism Intern | Dublin
University of Amsterdam
2 May 2017

I was looking for a journalism internship and my first preference was Cape Town, but then this opportunity in Ireland came up and before I knew it I had a Skype interview with the head editor. A week later I was on the plane to Dublin in chase for a new adventure. Connect-123 might seem a bit expensive, but they do work fast and once I said yes to this internship proposal it went really fast. They helped me with accommodation and everything else on site. I shared a room with another Connect-123 participant which was nice since it gave me a bit more feeling that everyone was in the same boat. My internship was a great learning experience and I actually really worked as a journalist. I would really recommend Connect-123 as it is really hard to get such a work experience on your own. I've also enjoyed Ireland more than I expected at first and I will miss all the new friends I've met in Dublin.

Internships in Dublin

Kiera Collins

Communications Intern | Cape Town
Michigan State University
1 May 2017

I decided to intern abroad in Cape Town, South Africa for my last semester as an undergraduate, and I can honestly say it was a decision that has forever changed my life, in the best way possible. I came to South Africa with high hopes and my experience has far surpassed them! From waking up to the most beautiful view every single day just out my bedroom window to walking with lions and diving with great whites, I have experienced things that I never thought possible. Connect-123 was there every step of the way from beginning to end, always available to help when needed, and making sure each person’s internship is what he or she hoped it would be. I have met amazing people, made once in a lifetime memories, and absolutely fell in love with Cape Town. If you are reading this review, and considering Connect-123, I am so jealous of you - I cannot recommend it enough. If you have the chance to go to South Africa - DO IT! I promise you will not be disappointed. South Africa will forever hold a piece of my heart, and I am certain it will steal a piece of yours as well. I cannot wait for the day that I come back. No one can describe the beauty of Africa through words and do it justice, to truly understand and appreciate this amazing continent; you must experience it for yourself.

Internships in Cape Town

Chris Lawson

Health Care Intern | Buenos Aires
Northeastern University
18 April 2017

I am a pre-med student at Northeastern University who traveled to Buenos Aires and worked at a hospital for three months. My time in Buenos Aires was amazing. I got to see and do so much at the hospital. All of the doctors were extremely friendly and taught me a ton. Argentina in general was great. I got to travel to many other great places. Overall, I had a great time.

Internships in Buenos Aires

Alessia Gisi

Health Care Intern | Buenos Aires
University of Basel, Switzerland
12 April 2017

During the last six months I had the huge pleasure of living and interning in Buenos Aires, Argentina. Connect-123 gave me the opportunity to do a pre-med internship in a public hospital. I will never forget this unique experience. Every day on my way to the hospital I felt so excited because I knew that I would learn something new and see incredible things that I would never have the chance to see in my home country. I was able to observe over thirty surgeries, and the doctors always explained me what they were doing and how they were approaching it. The anesthesiologists taught me each step of the narcotizing and after the operations they showed me how they made the patients wake up again. I got to shadow doctors on their rounds, assist doctors and nurses during patient’s appointments, and came to have a great “behind the scenes of a hospital” insight. All of those experiences made my dream of becoming a doctor even clearer and I am so eager and committed to start med school after this internship. Also, I perfected my Spanish skills by talking to all the hospital staff and patients in “Castellano” all day. By working in a local surrounding I also was infiltrated into the culture of Argentina, which I loved because I did not feel like a tourist while working in the hospital. Everyone made me feel very welcome from my first day onwards and I bonded with the doctors and all the staff quickly. Not only have I learnt so much for my future studies and have had a once in a lifetime experience, but also I bonded with many doctors and left Argentina with new, profound friendships. The amount of incredible doctors I met is unbelievable and I am very thankful for having experienced this unforgettable stay in Buenos Aires. Connect-123 made it very easy and helped me a lot to feel at home and feel supported in a new country. I would recommend Connect-123 to anyone who is looking for an “out of their comfort zone” working experience abroad. Because even if I was getting out of my comfort zone, they always made me feel understood and backed up.

Internships in Buenos Aires

Yaritza Burgos

Physical Therapy Intern | Buenos Aires
Mercy College
10 April 2017

Interning abroad has always been one of the many things I wanted to do ever since my last year in college. I came across Connect-123’s program through my school and after months of communication with the coordinator and doing research about Buenos Aires, Argentina, I was sold! My stay in Argentina was short only two months, but in those two months I was able to learn about Argentina’s culture, make lifelong friends, and, most importantly, learn all about physical therapy while getting the hands on experience. I was also able to expand my Spanish language skills and perfect it! Buenos Aires is such an amazing city, so beautiful and the people are super friendly! If you love to travel and are dying to start interning or volunteering, then Connect-123 is just right for you! I love to travel and have been meaning to start interning, so why not do both at the same time? I never regretted my decision to come to Buenos Aires and I do plan to come back and visit one day! It’s a once in a lifetime experience and I honestly recommend those who are looking into Connect-123, look no further!

Internships in Buenos Aires

Ryan Coats

Marketing Intern | Cape Town
Michigan State University
4 April 2017

Leading into my last summer as a college student, I was seeking a life-changing experience and South Africa gave me exactly that. I was happy to be placed in an internship at a technology start-up company located in the up-and-coming Woodstock neighborhood. My internship was challenging and provided me with unique international business experiences; it has already contributed to my career.Many times, I would get out of work and go surfing and other fun activities with the group of interns in the program; I was doing something new almost every day. Throughout the twelve weeks I spent abroad, the Connect-123 team was there for any question or concern I had. I appreciated the Connect-123 staff and their level of interest in making sure I got the best out of my internship and travel experience. They provided us with the guidance to navigate through the city like true Capetonians. From a simple search, you can tell Cape Town is a second to none travel destination. Looking back, I could not have predicted all the memories I made with an incredible group of interns. My network has now been expanded globally thanks to my summer in Cape Town.I interned in Cape Town the summer after I graduated from college, and I could not be happier about my decision of going to South Africa, and postponing the job hunting. While I was in Cape Town, I learned more about myself, became friends with people from all over the world, and immersed myself in a country with a complex history -- an experience I believe everyone should have before jumping into a full-time job. To put things in perspective, I befriended a local family who taught me the ins and outs of Cape Town, and who provided me with a firsthand perspective of South Africa's history and culture. Two of my closest friends there also happened to be British, allowing me to better understand the culture of the UK without being there. While in South Africa, I abseiled down Table Mountain and traveled through its Garden Route where we took part in an elephant encounter and crept through some caves. I went on a safari in Kruger, and even had the opportunity of exploring the country's neighbor, Namibia. In all, I had an amazing time and feel fortunate to have such good memories of the summer after I graduated from university. Connect-123 is unique because you also gain a unique outlook in regards to the country's work culture. I interned at a startup, an experience I absolutely loved! My supervisor allowed me to take plenty of initiative, and I found myself creating a variety of projects for them. During my interviews today, this experience is always a talking point, and I feel better prepared to take on a full time job. Before deciding on going, I constantly thought about how I should have already gone abroad, and about how I was pushing back on two months in which I could already be working. I took a step back though, and realized that in the scheme of things, two months is really not a lot -- especially since those two months would provide me with memories and lessons that would last me a lifetime. If you are having these same kinds of doubts, my advice to you is to just go. You'll be glad you did.

Internships in Cape Town

Ashley Nave

Writing Intern | Barcelona
Kutztown University
29 March 2017

Are you looking for the internship of your dreams and one that falls under your area of study? About a year and a half ago, I said to some family and friends that it would be a dream come true to find an internship in Barcelona, and so one day I came across the Connect-123 program and they put it all together, an internship with a magazine in one of my favorite cities. Finding Connect-123 was one of the greatest opportunities I’ve ever experienced. From the friendly welcome at the airport and the diverse accommodations, to the program activities all throughout Barcelona and the writing internship itself, I not only gained professional skills but I lived in a community that I will never forget. I met people from all over the world there, and because of Connect-123, it felt like I was truly at home, even though I was over 2,000 miles away from my actual home. The program opened my eyes to living and working overseas in ways that I’d never understood before, being that they help you adapt to a foreign culture, a new lifestyle and incredible food, which doesn’t take much adapting to if you’re a foodie like me! It’s taking a chance for sure, but more importantly, you will walk away with unforgettable memories, long-lasting friendships and communication skills you might only achieve by studying and working abroad.

Internships in Barcelona

Chad Allen

Marketing Intern | Cape Town
University of Northern Colorado
27 March 2017

My experience in Cape Town was absolutely incredible, and I’ll try my best to shorten the best three months of my life into just two paragraphs. I had never traveled outside of the U.S. before, and everyone told me that Cape Town would spoil any future destinations I had in mind. There are countless things to do in your spare time. South Africa is incredibly diverse and there is plenty of history to take in at local museums, landmarks, and of course Robben Island. I love hiking and Devil’s Peak, Table Mountain, and Lion’s Head are all beautiful hikes. Some of the incredible things you can do and see include but are not limited to; penguins at the beach, wine country, lion walks, shark cage diving, cave tours, feeding elephants, catching some waves, rugby games, shenanigans on Long Street, the massive botanical gardens, eating a burger the size of your face (Dog’s Bollocks, go there), or, you know, just jumping off of the second largest bungee jump bridge in the world. No big deal. The list goes on and on.My internship was with an international non-governmental organization devoted to devoted to building decent, affordable housing. I worked with their digital marketing, social media marketing, analytics and website content. Connect-123 did a great job finding a perfect internship opportunity for me. Everyone in my office was friendly and worked well as a team. It was enlightening to know I was a part a non-profit organization that was helping make a difference in the lives of less fortunate South Africans. The people I met both at my internship and at the informal settlements we visited were so uplifting and inspirational. I was truly blessed to have such an amazing experience during my visit.

Internships in Cape Town

Diya Khullar

Healthcare Intern | Cape Town
Northeastern University
27 March 2017

My stay in Cape Town with Connect-123 was truly priceless. I entered with overwhelming anticipation and left with unimaginable clinical experience, bucket-list attractions checked off my list, and lifelong friends. Being a pre-med student did not pose an issue for me at the hospital as the surgeons and other interns were constantly encouraging questions and eager to teach. Not only did I get the opportunity to shadow cardiothoracics, I also ended up viewing general surgeries and neurosurgeries! The environment truly fosters your interests as long as you pursue them, whether it's spending all day in operating theater, focusing on ward work, or visiting other departments. Furthermore, Connect-123 was always there for me outside of the internship, from when I was sick as a dog to when I needed instructions on how to reset my electric power! Furthermore, the social events that Connect-123 set up for us allowed us to experience the various facets of Cape Town while CONNECTING (pun intended) with other individuals from all around the world! Overall, I highly recommend this experience to anyone who is willing to step outside of his/her comfort zone and seeks growth outside of the typical educational/career path; you will not regret it.

Internships in Cape Town

Kaitlin O’Brien

Child Life/Play Therapy Intern | Dublin
George Mason University
20 March 2017

To say my choice to intern in Ireland with Connect-123 was the best decision of my entire life would be an understatement. I honestly owe so much to Connect-123 and I will never forget my experience in Dublin. Connect-123 set me up with not one but two internships working in two children's hospitals in Dublin. I learned so much about what I want to do with my life and where I want to be. I was able to meet some of the greatest people I’ve ever known through Connect-123 and I was never lonely or out of people to explore Ireland with. I can’t recommend this company enough! If you are looking for a life changing experience, look no further. I promise you won’t be disappointed.

Internships in Dublin

Feyi Awofala

Architecture Intern | Cape Town
Rugby School, UK
17 March 2017

My experience in Cape Town from start to finish was amazing. From the first day I was welcomed with such warmth all the Connect-123 staff were so kind and helpful. From organizing great events and activities to being a constant line of support and advice. Yet most importantly my internship was valuable and I really appreciated connect finding me a great internship with a very well respected architect like Andy Horn who was a great mentor. Overall I loved every second of my time in Cape Town and would like to say cheers to all the people who made it so special.

Internships in Cape Town

Eden Klepper

Medical Research Intern | Barcelona
Arcadia University
7 March 2017

Being an undergraduate studying biology, it is very difficult to find meaningful internships in the sciences. Almost impossible. But after contacting Connect-123, they were able to find me multiple, really nice internships. I actually had options to choose from! I ended up working in a neuroimmunology research laboratory. I felt at home there and was able to confirm my aspirations of working as a biologist, which is the main reason for why I wanted to pursue an internship. I learned so much about different laboratory techniques in a clinical setting. I learned techniques and worked with software and machines that I have never encountered during my undergraduate career, and probably will not encounter again until my post-graduate education, or later. Interning in Barcelona, I was also able to utilize the Spanish language, which I had studied for several years and am minoring in. It was a wonderful feeling being able to speak Spanish with native speakers 24/7 and immerse myself among the Spanish and Catalonian cultures for the summer. I would return to Barcelona and my internship in a heartbeat if I could. I wish I could have interned longer. Connect-123 is an awesome resource for students who want an international internship experience to boost their resumes and confirm their career aspirations, before applying for jobs or graduate schools. An international experience like this is also a great way to network abroad and form diverse friendships and relationships. I met a lot of other interns from all over the United States due to Connect-123’s planned events and outings. They have exceptional staff there, and they were so supportive, communicative, and caring right from the start. I cannot thank the staff at Connect-123 and my internship hosts enough!

Internships in Barcelona