Reviews

Real stories from real participants, parents and university partners who share their experiences as well as their advice. Learn more about the benefits Connect-123 interns and volunteers receive on our programs around the world!

Scroll down to view all – or filter by destination, opportunity or both.

Destination

Opportunity

Feyi Awofala

Architecture Intern | Cape Town
Rugby School, UK
17 March 2017

My experience in Cape Town from start to finish was amazing. From the first day I was welcomed with such warmth all the Connect-123 staff were so kind and helpful. From organizing great events and activities to being a constant line of support and advice. Yet most importantly my internship was valuable and I really appreciated connect finding me a great internship with a very well respected architect like Andy Horn who was a great mentor. Overall I loved every second of my time in Cape Town and would like to say cheers to all the people who made it so special.

Internships in Cape Town

Eden Klepper

Medical Research Intern | Barcelona
Arcadia University
7 March 2017

Being an undergraduate studying biology, it is very difficult to find meaningful internships in the sciences. Almost impossible. But after contacting Connect-123, they were able to find me multiple, really nice internships. I actually had options to choose from! I ended up working in a neuroimmunology research laboratory. I felt at home there and was able to confirm my aspirations of working as a biologist, which is the main reason for why I wanted to pursue an internship. I learned so much about different laboratory techniques in a clinical setting. I learned techniques and worked with software and machines that I have never encountered during my undergraduate career, and probably will not encounter again until my post-graduate education, or later. Interning in Barcelona, I was also able to utilize the Spanish language, which I had studied for several years and am minoring in. It was a wonderful feeling being able to speak Spanish with native speakers 24/7 and immerse myself among the Spanish and Catalonian cultures for the summer. I would return to Barcelona and my internship in a heartbeat if I could. I wish I could have interned longer. Connect-123 is an awesome resource for students who want an international internship experience to boost their resumes and confirm their career aspirations, before applying for jobs or graduate schools. An international experience like this is also a great way to network abroad and form diverse friendships and relationships. I met a lot of other interns from all over the United States due to Connect-123’s planned events and outings. They have exceptional staff there, and they were so supportive, communicative, and caring right from the start. I cannot thank the staff at Connect-123 and my internship hosts enough!

Internships in Barcelona

Xizi Yu

Healthcare Intern | Buenos Aires
Shanghai Institute of Biochemistry and Cell Biology
6 March 2017

Thanks to connect, I had the opportunity to spend my 50 day winter break working and living in a city I’ve always wanted to get to know. I know it’s a short time, but I was able to reach a deeper understanding of the culture, the country, and its people, also to have a fresh start of my Spanish learning. I worked as a medical intern in a hospital in Buenos Aires. Everyday we joined different doctors to observe and learn from their daily work. The experience was more than rewarding. Other than working, one of my objects of this visit was to experience the culture of tango. I started dancing Argentine tango in Fall 2016 and fell in love with it. Coming to BA after learning for 4 months, I found myself surrounded by amazing dancers, maestros and milongas. It was quite new and fresh to hear that there were some excellent ideas about tango from the young generations. I learned so much from this stay, not only academically and culturally, but also in terms of personal growth.

Internships in Buenos Aires

Naledi Makhene

Public Health Intern | Cape Town
Michigan State University
3 March 2017

I had an amazing time in Cape Town! My family is South African, so I’ve been to Cape Town before and was unsure if I wanted to go back there or experience a different city for my internship. I’m so happy that I decided to return, because I got to experience Cape Town in a different way. It is such a beautiful city that is rich in culture with lots of things to do. The people and the atmosphere are extremely inviting, which made the transition to living in a new place easier. My internship experience was phenomenal, and I hope to work there again when I earn my Master’s in Public Health. I reminisce on my trip literally almost everyday and I can’t wait to go back! Three months was too short.

Internships in Cape Town

Jack Churchill

Marketing Intern | Buenos Aires
High School Graduate
28 February 2017

Connect-123 proved every bit as helpful and enjoyable as I could have hoped. During my two months in Buenos Aires, every day was an adventure as I adjusted to living in a city unlike any I had ever experienced. Along with the lessons I learned as an intern, I feel that I really got to take part in the city's culture, as if I were a resident rather than just a tourist. Looking back on my time, I can definitively say that it has been a unique and enriching experience––made possible by the guidance of the program and the friends I made along the way. From trips I went on to the typical day with my roommates, I am sure these are memories that will remain with me for the rest of my life

Internships in Buenos Aires

Amirul Aniza

Engineering Intern | Cape Town
National University of Singapore
27 February 2017

It is no doubt that Cape Town is one of the most beautiful places on this planet. I fell in love with the place at first sight and was truly lucky to have been given the opportunity to intern in the city itself! My program coordinator was very efficient in securing an internship position for me, with a leading university, as a research intern. She also assisted in administrative tasks which allowed me to adapt to the beautiful city smoothly. I was lucky that my internship position had flexible working hours and I was also allowed to do work from my apartment. Hence, I would make full use of the flexibility to arrange trips with my friends to explore the city. After work, we would head out to Camps Bay or Waterfront to enjoy the evening scenes. Living near the other interns facilitated mingling amongst ourselves and we will look out for each other, easing the feeling of homesickness. Interning in Cape Town is undoubtedly one of the best decision I have ever made!

Internships in Cape Town

Samantha Warwar

Public Health Intern | Cape Town
Ohio State University
21 February 2017

Sitting down to write one paragraph about my experience in Cape town is one of the hardest things I've had to do. There are not enough words and definitely not enough space to capture everything I want to tell you about this trip. So I'll try my best to keep it concise (and not to cry) as I recall all of the amazing things about this internship. The summer after my first year in medical school, I went to Cape Town to intern with Connect-123 in the Public Health program. I spent 4 weeks interning in a hospital where I observed surgeries, rounded with some of Cape Town's most prestigious doctors, and helped care for the most memorable patients. If you are considering a field in medicine this is the best opportunity because you are a part of a care team managing some of the most sick patients in the world. You will see and do things that you once thought you would only read about in textbooks. As for the rest of the trip, me and a group of girls and guys became friends instantly. This is the kind of friendship that you dream about developing on a trip like this. We were from all over the world and I learned about the world from their stories in a way that I have never experienced before. We all fell in love with Cape town together, it is impossible not to if you go. Cape town is home to the most genuine people I have ever met, some of the best food I have ever tasted, and this little town stole a piece of my heart. I cannot wait to go back and hike Lions Head, breathe in the fresh air, and take in the most beautiful sights this world has to offer.

Internships in Cape Town

Grace Severance

Healthcare Intern | Cape Town
Northeastern University
21 February 2017

I spent 3 months of the fall semester of my senior year of university working as an intern in a surgical unit at a hospital in Cape Town, South Africa. Working with both the surgeons and registrars was a unique experience - I got to observe how the medical staff diagnosed, treated, and cared for patient on a daily basis. My relationship with the physicians was friendly and professional, and they were always helpful in explaining all the medical terminology and diagnostic reasoning to me. I also had opportunities to observe a public clinic an hour from Cape Town and see how healthcare was delivered on a local scale. I can highly recommend Connect-123 for anyone interested in doing an internship in Cape Town. The staff was prompt, professional, and always looking to help the interns in whatever way they could. I was able to learn a lot about South African culture and they, in turn, were interested in learning about American culture. Connect-123 is a dependable organization whose primary goal is to optimize the experiences of its participants. I would recommend this specific internship to any student interested in medicine, pre-PA, and nursing.

Internships in Cape Town

Alexandra Aldieri

Pharmacy Intern | Dublin
Northeastern University
21 February 2017

I always knew I wanted to intern abroad and Connect-123 helped find a great opportunity in Ireland. I worked for a college research department in Dublin, and everything about my experience was unforgettable. It’s difficult for an American student to find pharmacy research abroad, so I can’t thank Connect-123 enough for helping me find the perfect research position. The professor that I worked closely with was an incredibly kind and generous mentor. He often treated me for tea and we would sit and discuss anything from our research project to life and travel. It was something I never expected from my internship, but something I’ll never forget. I came to Europe alone and not knowing what to expect, but I met so many people along the way that were supportive and a lot of fun. Dublin felt like home and everything good you’ve heard about the Irish is true. My best memories are thanks to my Dublin Connect-123 family. I miss it and I highly recommend working with Connect-123 for the opportunity to travel, work, and have the time of your life.

Internships in Dublin

Yana Martysevich

Public Health Intern | Cape Town
CUNY - Center on Philanthropy & Civil Society
19 February 2017

I've had a wonderful stay in Cape Town, South Africa. It is an amazing city! Connect-123 went above and beyond to get me this internship and without exaggerating, it has been one of the best experiences in my life! My program coordinator is absolutely wonderful and she will tell you everything you need to know about Cape town! If you're looking for a great way to live abroad, gain unmatched work experience, and have the time of your life, this program is for you.

Internships in Cape Town

Kaleigh Keown

Nursing Intern | Cape Town
Catholic University of Leuven
17 February 2017

The five weeks I spent in Cape Town, South Africa, were five weeks I will never forget. Although I was over 7,000 miles away from a single person I knew, I felt completely prepared thanks to Connect-123. I began my internship at a hospital in the city and when that experience did not exactly go as planned, Connect-123 was quick to change my setting and give me the most out of my time in Cape Town. I was not only able to experience the South African healthcare culture through my internship, but staying in the city allowed me to absorb as much of the Cape Town atmosphere as possible. During my trip, I experienced hiking, shark cage diving, rugby games, surfing, winery tours, a Robben Island tour, a Langa Township tour, a trip to Boulder’s Beach organized by Connect-123, among many others. I only wish that I would have stayed longer than five weeks!

Internships in Cape Town

Isaac Rooney

Healthcare Intern | Cape Town
University of Vermont
15 February 2017

Cape Town gave me without a doubt, the most educational, eye-opening, and exploration-filled two months of my life. The experience my internship gave me was unlike any I could’ve imagined. Working in a hospital in South Africa exposed me to more than I ever could have been exposed to in the U.S. and has given me both a unique and favorable addition to my resume. Since getting home, I’ve been telling friends that Cape Town is the one place in the world where you can truly do anything. One day you could be hiking table mountain, the next you could be surfing, and the next you could be shark cage diving or visiting Kirstenbosch, the massive botanical garden. Going into my internship in South Africa, I was very unsure, as I’m sure mostly everyone was. Having returned home, I can confidently say I made the best possible choice on where to spend my two month internship. I felt as though Sough Africa wasn’t a place I would get another chance to visit and having taken the opportunity, I couldn’t be happier with my decision.

Internships in Cape Town

Sarah Banks

Physical Therapy Intern | Buenos Aires
University of Colorado at Boulder
25 January 2017

Connect-123 was one of my favorite experiences in my life. When I was first inquiring about the program, I was skeptical because of all the high reviews and the fact that there was not one low review. But this program is real and it is what it appears to be. After I graduated college I wanted to get some real world experience in a physical therapy setting where I was able to also practice Spanish. C-123's program coordinators were able to help me get that experience and so much more. Besides what I learned in my internship, I made life long friends, was able to travel, and spend 7 months living in Buenos Aires, Argentina! I am so grateful to have been able to have this experience that exceeded my expectations!

Internships in Buenos Aires

Mariam Said

Architecture Intern | Dublin
London Metropolitan University, UK
5 January 2017

Dublin! THE best decision I have made to date. At first I was doubting the decision but I always say to myself, "if it does not work out, that is a lesson I will learn, and if it does work out it will be the best experience of my life". Interning in Dublin WAS the best experience of my life. Not just because I was in a beautiful country with beautiful people but because Connect-123 introduced me with the best intern firm EVER! My manager was amazing. The most terrifying thing about working abroad is if you will like your workplace, but Connect-123 made sure that they put me in the best environment possible. My manager was extremely helpful, he was a mentor… a friend. I also met wonderful other interns at the same time. I never once felt alone, despite moving to a country for 8 months without knowing anyone, but in these situations you can never be worried because everyone in Dublin are just genuinely friendly and helpful and have so much love and respect to give. Most importantly Connect-123 are always by your side, theres always someone that you can reach out to. I can vouch for that. I was extremely lucky. I learned so much about architecture, about living and surviving on my own. I learned about myself and other people and culture too. Dublin is a spectacular city and there is always so much to do. My advice is "don't think about it too much, experience makes you wiser. Whether it is a good or bad one, always learn something from it." Just do it, especially with Connect-123 they are truly the best! Honestly, Connect-123, THANK YOU SO MUCH!

Internships in Dublin

Mary Malone

Arts Administration Intern | Dublin
Bellhaven University
27 December 2016

My time in Ireland was an experience that I will never forget. Because of Connect-123, I was placed at an internship at a museum that I absolutely loved, and I gained valuable experience in my field. In addition, I made friendships and went on adventures that I will always treasure. I am so grateful to Connect-123 for making my summer in Ireland possible!

Internships in Dublin

Lynsey Schafer

Occupational Therapy Intern | Dublin
Assumption College
11 December 2016

This summer, I was blessed with the opportunity to be an intern in Ireland. Before this experience, I had never been outside of the United States so traveling internationally was a new experience for me. Connect-123 helped calm most of my nerves and hesitations about traveling independently, living in a new home for two months, and having an international internship. Throughout the process, Connect-123 was quick to answer all of my questions and helped guide me. Although this experience is one of independence and self-discovery, Connect-123 tries their best to help you when you need it. Connect-123 did an amazing job of finding, not one, but three internship options for me! It was great to be able to have a wide variety of choices that related to my field of interest. The internship that I ultimately chose was a perfect fit. I worked under two wonderful and talented people who welcomed me with open arms and helped me to feel right at home. Ireland will forever have a piece of my heart and I wouldn’t have had the experience that I did if it wasn’t for Connect-123.

Internships in Dublin

Angie Shearon

Health Care Intern | Dublin
University of Arizona
10 December 2016

Completing a Connect-123 internship was one of the best decisions I’ve made, not only for my career but for my growth as a person. It was my first time travelling away from home for such a long period, but they made everything go so smoothly that I had nothing to be nervous about. The internship was so perfect for me and was exactly what I was looking for! My supervisors made me feel extremely comfortable asking questions and made sure I got everything out of it that I wanted to. I gained so much from working in a hospital, it helped build my resume, I made strong connections with people who will support me through my career path, and it helped me figure out more of what I want out of my future job. Not only was I given the chance to assist with research, but I got to shadow a well-known doctor at the hospital and observe what he does every day. I got to see up close how he stayed calm and handled stressful situations, how he interacted with each patient on a personal level, and how he genuinely cared about giving every person the best possible care. This taught me a lot about the kind of doctor I want to be someday, and I will never forget the experience. What made this experience as amazing as it was were the livelong friends I made along the way. Connect-123 made it very easy to meet everyone in the program because of group events we did so regularly, like getting burgers after work or meeting up for Irish dancing lessons. They provided us with information about fun things to experience while in Ireland and gave us tips about traveling to other countries as well. I wouldn’t trade the memories from this summer for anything, and I am certain that the friends I made abroad will be friends I have throughout my life.

Internships in Dublin

Craig Marshall

Music and Publishing Intern | Dublin
SUNY at Oneonta
7 December 2016

If you're looking to go abroad as well as gain experience in your field of studies, then Connect-123 is the program for you! I went to Dublin, Ireland in the fall of 2016 and my time spent there will be cherished for the rest of my life. The staff is extremely helpful in finding an internship to fit your interests. In the time I was there, I interned for both a publishing company and a radio station working on tasks like promotion, journalism, and presenting. Along with working in your field, Connect-123 also offers various opportunities to network with other people in the program as well as others who cross your path on this amazing journey! Thank you Connect-123 for making this dream of going abroad become a reality.

Internships in Dublin

Pemanee Damrasmongkonsakul

Tourism Intern | Barcelona
Ritsumeikan Asia Pacific University
5 December 2016

It was my last semester before university graduation in March 2017, so I wanted to spend time to discover new things overseas. My case was so complicated at first due to my visa and others documents required (I was studying in Japan by that time), but thanks to Connect-123, all those things became much more easier for me. Their quick response to my questions and their experience of having interns abroad, assisted me in getting an opportunity to have an internship here in Barcelona. Barcelona is an amazing city where you can definitely enjoy the stunning attractions during the day and go out to Spain’s best city for party at night. Not only beautiful architecture by Gaudi, but also its people who I would say very friendly and most easy-going people I’ve ever met. I always go somewhere by walking and get lost in different places which make me find out things about this city. It is super cool just to get lost here because the hidden gems are everywhere just around the corner. I really enjoyed my time here, including the company where I interned with is also incredible! Not even a second that I regret to come here.

Internships in Barcelona

Adriana De Lucio

Human Rights Intern | Cape Town
Northeastern University
1 December 2016

At the end of 2015, I accepted the exciting opportunity to do an internship abroad at a nonprofit geared towards promoting women’s rights in an unfamiliar location—Cape Town, South Africa. While I was a little nervous about traveling outside of my comfort zone, I knew this would be an unforgettable experience; so, in late January of 2016, I left my home in Washington, D.C. for the Mother City. For five months, I worked at a three-stage shelter for destitute, abused, and disadvantaged women and their children. On top of providing temporary shelter, the organization also provides its female residents with legal counseling, skills classes and workshops, and access to a child’s daycare center and preschool. During my time there, I not only worked on meaningful projects like creating a residential database and an online fundraising campaign, but I met and worked with inspirational women and children that have further motivated me to become a strong proponent of social change through their own passion for fighting injustices and personal stories. In addition to learning outside of the university classroom about the nonprofit sector, I gained knowledge about my host country through exploring it with my new friends. I went bungee jumping in Bloukrans, shark-cage diving in Gainbaai, wine-tasting in Franschhoek, on a safari trip in Kruger National Park, and sandboarding in Atlantis. Inside the city, I tried foreign Cape-Malay cuisine, watched a play about apartheid, spectated a Springboks rugby match, and hiked the iconic Table Mountain. My overall experience in Cape Town allowed me to learn more about my area of academic interest and myself as a person. The five months I spent in Cape Town were truly transformative and I’m grateful to Connect-123 for the memorable adventure.

Internships in Cape Town